️⚽️ Kansas Floods All-Tourney Honors, NCAA Selection Show Set for Monday Afternoon

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – A league-record seven Jayhawks were selected to the Big 12 All-Tournament Team Monday, one day after Kansas claimed the program’s first Big 12 Championship title at Swope Soccer Village. Sophomore goalkeeper Sarah Peters highlighted KU’s all-tourney haul after she was also named the event’s Defensive Most Outstanding Player.

Kansas, seeded No. 5 in the league championship, topped No. 6-seed TCU, 1-0, in the final Sunday to earn its first conference tournament title in program history. KU led the league with seven all-tournament honorees, the most ever by a single school in the Big 12’s history.

Peters claimed Defensive M.O.P. and All-Tournament honors after conceding just one goal in her three matches during the Championship. The Lee’s Summit, Missouri product has conceded only five goals in her last nine outings and boasts a goals-against average of 0.76 on the year. She also tallied her ninth shutout of the season Sunday in KU’s 1-0 title victory over TCU. Peters was joined by two Jayhawk defenders on the Big 12 All-Tournament squad, senior Addisyn Merrick and junior Isabella Cavalcante.

Two Jayhawk midfielders saw their names called for the All-Tournament team. Junior Ceri Holland, who posted a tournament-high three assists as well as a goal, tallied the assist one KU’s eventual game-winner in the championship match against TCU. Also selected was sophomore Samantha Barnett, who scored in the Jayhawks’ takedown of No. 10 Oklahoma State in the semifinals on Nov. 8.

Forwards Katie McClure and Mandi Duggan rounded out the KU picks. McClure scored in KU’s 2-0 win over West Virginia in the tournament quarterfinals, while Duggan tallied the game-winner in the Jayhawks’ 1-0 championship victory over TCU Sunday.

2019 Big 12 Soccer Championship All-Tournament Team
GK: Sarah Peters, Kansas
D: Isabella Cavalcante, Kansas
D: Addisyn Merrick, Kansas
D: Kim Rodriguez, Oklahoma State
MF: Samantha Barnett, Kansas
MF: Ceri Holland, Kansas
MF: Yazmeen Ryan, TCU
MF: Jordie Harr, Texas Tech
F: Mandi Duggan, Kansas
F: Katie McClure, Kansas
F: Gabriella Coleman, Oklahoma State
F: Messiah Bright, TCU

Most Outstanding Offensive Player: Messiah Bright, TCU
Most Outstanding Defensive Player: Sarah Peters, Kansas

*Ties in voting created an additional spot on the All-Tournament Team

Kansas (15-4-3) is expected to earn its first top-4 seed in 15 years when the field of 64 is announced for the NCAA Championship on Monday, Nov. 11. The selection show is set to begin at 3:30 p.m. (CT), streamed live NCAA.com.

Kansas Jayhawks