Mangino Named FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Friday

Jan. 4, 2008

Release from FWAA<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>NEW ORLEANS, La. — Kansas football coach Mark Mangino was named the winner of the 2007 Football Writer’s Association of America/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award at a reception here Friday night.

The Eddie Robinson award is sponsored by the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl and was presented in conjunction with the BCS 1-2 game to be played in New Orleans on Monday night. The entire FWAA membership votes on the association’s Coach of the Year Award, which was narrowed to eight finalists in early December.

“Mark Mangino won 11 regular-season games at a school which traditionally has not been a major player in college football,” said FWAA executive director Steve Richardson. “That, in itself, is reason enough for the award to go to him.”

The FWAA has honored a major-college coach with its Coach of the Year Award since 1957.

Kansas finished the 2007 season with a 12-1 record, losing only to Missouri, 36-28, in the final game of the regular season. Kansas closed out its season with a 24-21 win against Virginia Tech in the FedEx Orange Bowl Thursday night as the team won more games in a season than at any time in school history.The Jayhawks won more games in a season than at any time in school history.

Kansas has made three bowl appearances in Mangino’s six seasons at the school.

Mangino, a 1987 graduate of YoungstownState, served as an assistant on KansasState and Oklahoma staffs before arriving in Lawrence. He inherited a KU program which had not gone to a bowl game since the beginning of Big 12 play in 1996. But he took the Jayhawks to the Tangerine Bowl in 2003 during his second season. Mangino’s six-year record at KU is 37-36.

The FWAA Coaching Award is named after Robinson, a coaching legend at GramblingStateUniversity for 55 years. The late Coach Rob has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach. Coach Robinson passed away on April 4, 2007. But his legacy will certainly not be forgotten. He coached his entire career at GramblingStateUniversity and produced numerous professional players and coaches as well as players who graduated and went into other professional fields.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.


2006 Greg Schiano, Rutgers

2005 Charlie Weis, Notre Dame
2004 Urban Meyer, Utah
2003 Nick Saban, LSU
2002 Jim Tressel, Ohio State
2001 Ralph Friedgen, Maryland
2000 Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
1999 Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech
1998 Phil Fulmer, Tennessee
1997 Mike Price, Washington State
1996 Bruce Snyder, Arizona State
1995 Gary Barnett, Northwestern
1994 Rich Brooks, Oregon
1993 Terry Bowden, Auburn
1992 Gene Stallings, Alabama
1991 Don James, Washington
1990 Bobby Ross, Georgia Tech
1989 Bill McCartney, Colorado
1988 Lou Holtz, Notre Dame
1987 Dick MacPherson, Syracuse
1986 Joe Paterno, Penn State
1985 Fisher DeBerry, Air Force
1984 LaVell Edwards, BYU
1983 Howard Schnellenberger, Miami
1982 Joe Paterno, Penn State
1981 Danny Ford, Clemson

1980 Vince Dooley, Georgia
1979 Earle Bruce, Ohio State
1978 Joe Paterno, Penn State
1977 Lou Holtz, Arkansas
1976 Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh
1975 Woody Hayes, Ohio State
1974 Grant Teaff, Baylor
1973 Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh
1972 John McKay, USC
1971 Bob Devaney, Nebraska
1970 Alex Agase, Northwestern
1969 Bo Schembechler, Michigan
1968 Woody Hayes, Ohio State
1967 John Pont, Indiana
1966 Tom Cahill, Army
1965 Duffy Daugherty, Michigan State
1964 Ara Parseghian, Notre Dame
1963 Darrell Royal, Texas
1962 John McKay, USC
1961 Darrell Royal, Texas
1960 Murray Warmath, Minnesota
1959 Ben Schwartzwalder, Syracuse
1958 Paul Dietzel, LSU
1957 Woody Hayes, Ohio State