Kansas' Sherron Collins Named Bob Cousy Award Finalist for Second Straight Year

Jan. 5, 2010

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Kansas senior Sherron Collins has been named one of 20 finalists for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Tuesday.

The 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc., is an annual award given to college basketball’s top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic great Bob Cousy.

This marks the second straight year Collins has been a Cousy finalist. The 5-11 Chicago guard has scored in double figures in 10 games this season for the No. 1 Jayhawks (13-0). Collins is second on the team in scoring and his 13.8 ppg ranks 17th in the Big 12. Collins also ranks among the league leaders in assists (sixth at 4.2), three-point field goal percentage (seventh at .419), three-point field goals made (tied for seventh at 2.0) and assist-to-turnover ratio (seventh at 2.2).

A proven winner, Kansas is 110-16 while Collins has been a Jayhawk including three Big 12 regular-season championships, two Big 12 postseason championships, three NCAA Tournament Sweet 16 appearances, two NCAA Elite Eights, one Final Four and one NCAA National Championship (2008).

Other Jayhawks who have been Bob Cousy Award finalists include Aaron Miles in 2005 and Russell Robinson in 2007.

An original list of 73 candidates made up of players from Division I, II and III schools was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally based committee to the below list of 20.

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford will be narrowed down to 10 players by February 1 and than further to five players by March 1. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday, April 5 in Indianapolis as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award, which started in 2004, have included: Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A&M), D.J. Augustin (Texas) and Ty Lawson (North Carolina).

For more information on the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford, log onto www.cousyaward.com .

2010 Bob Cousy Award Finalists

Chris Warren, Ole Miss

Denis Clemente, Kansas State

Deonta Vaughn, Cincinnati

Devan Downey, South Carolina

Greivis Vasquez, Maryland

Jeremy Lin, Harvard

Jerome Randle, Cal

John Wall, Kentucky

Jon Scheyer, Duke

Kalin Lucas, Michigan State

Kemba Walker, Connecticut

Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech

Manny Harris, Michigan

Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga

Nic Wise, Arizona

Ronald Moore, Siena

Scottie Reynolds, Villanova

Sherron Collins, KANSAS

Talor Battle, Penn State

Trevon Hughes, Wisconsin