Battle Wins Twice in Arkansas

Jan. 13, 2006

Final Stats


The <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>University of Kansas track and field teams competed in their second meet of the young season on Friday, as they traveled to Fayetteville, Ark., for the Arkansas Invitational. In addition to the University of Arkansas, a total of 12 teams made the trip to Fayetteville, including Harding, Jackson State, Kansas State, Missouri Southern, Neosho County CC, Oklahoma, Oklahoma Baptist, Oklahoma State, Ole Miss, TCU and Texas A&M.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

The day was highlighted by victories in the shot put and the weight throw by senior Sheldon Battle. Both of his tosses (shot put-59-04.25, weight throw-66-01.50) already provisionally qualified him for the NCAA Indoor Championships to be held March 10 and 11 at the same complex. Sophomore Paul Hefferon also had a victory on the day. The Overland Park, Kan., native beat the rest of the field in the 3000m, winning the race in a time of 8:22.06.

The women’s performances were highlighted by a pair of third place results, the first in the long jump from Crystal Manning (19-02.50) and the other in the shot put from freshman Stephanie Horton (41-01.75).

Additionally, the men’s and women’s 4x400m relay teams finished sixth and seventh, respectively. The men turned in a time of 3:17.07 while the women ran a 3:53.15.

Other top performances of the day included Julius Jiles in the 60m hurdles (sixth, 8.19), Brandon Hodges in the 800m (sixth, 1:53.80) and Cody Roberts in the weight throw (sixth, 53-09.00). On the women’s side Tiffany Cherry finished seventh in the 60m (7.66), Dena Seibel finished seventh in the mile (5:18.00) and Connie Abbott also had a seventh place result in the 3000m (10:26.12).

The Jayhawks return to Lawrence next weekend for the KU/KSU/MU Triangular on Jan. 20, the first of two consecutive home meets. The teams will close out the month with the Jayhawk Invitational on Jan. 28.