Kansas Track and Field Announces 2008 Team Captains

Jan. 18, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Lawrence, Kan. – Four men and five women at the University of Kansas were named as team captains for the 2008 track and field season. Seniors Matt Baysinger, Ashley Brown, Libby Harmon, Paul Hefferon, Alicia McGregor and Barrett Saunders; junior Sha’Ray Butler; and sophomores Lauren Bonds and Jordan Scott were the honorees.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

This is the third time Harmon has been selected as a team captain and it also marked the second selection for Baysinger, Brown, Butler, Hefferon and McGregor.

Harmon is the first KU athlete to be a three-time captain since Scott Huffman (1985-1988) and is one of two women to receive the honor on three occasions. Rebecca McGranahan (1981-1983) was a team captain for the first three years in which the women’s team began naming captains.

“Libby (Harmon), and all of our team captains, are strong motivators,” said head coach Stanley Redwine. “They love KU and they have a passion for the team to succeed both athletically and academically.”

The Jayhawks will host the Kansas Invitational this Saturday, Jan. 19 in Anschutz Pavilion. The meet will begin with the semi-finals of the men’s 60-meter hurdles and the women’s weight throw at 11:00 a.m. Central standard time. The final event, the men’s 1,600-meter relay, is scheduled to begin at 5:00 p.m. Results can be found at www.kuathletics.com shortly after the conclusion of the day’s events.