Senior Aaron Miles Named Finalist for Bob Cousy Award

Jan. 13, 2005

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Kansas senior Aaron Miles is one of 18 finalists for the 2005 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award presented by the Basketball Hall of Fame.

The Cousy Award, which considers outstanding point guards from all three NCAA divisions, is being presented for the second time. Last year’s recipient was Jameer Nelson of St. Joseph’s.

Miles is seventh nationally in assists at 7.1. Pitt’s Carl Krauser is scoring 15.8 points per game with 5.4 assists while North Carolina State’s Julius Hodge is at 18.8 points and 4.7 assists.

Travis Diener of Marquette, Raymond Felton of North Carolina, Chris Hernandez of Stanford, Josh Mueller of South Dakota and Chris Thomas of Notre Dame, all finalists in 2004. Diener is averaging 20.9 points per game and 6.6 assists per game. Felton is fifth in the country in assists with a 7.7 average while Thomas is tied for 12th at 6.8. Among the top candidates in Division I are Jose Juan Barea of Northeastern, averaging 22.6 ppg and tied for 12th in assits at 6.8, Rob Monroe of Quinnipiac at 21.2 ppg and third in the country at 8.0 apg and Hernandez at 13.7 points and 3.9 assists per game.

South Dakota’s Miller, a finalist from Div. II, is averaging 18.5 points and 4.5 assists per game while Div. III finalist J.D. Byers of Lebanon Valley is the top scorer among the finalists with a 25.5 average to go along with 4.4 apg.


Jose Juan Barea (Northeastern)

J.D. Byers (Lebanon Valley, Division III)

Travis Diener* (Marquette)

Raymond Felton* (North Carolina)

Tim Forbes (Bentley, Division II)

Tom Harrington (Baldwin Wallace, Division III)

Chris Hernandez* (Stanford)

Julius Hodge (North Carolina State)

Jerritt Jack (Georgia Tech)

Erik Jackson (Macalester, Division III)

Carl Krauser (Pittsburgh)

Dave Logan (Indianapolis, Division II)

Aaron Miles (KANSAS)

Rob Monroe (Quinnipiac)

Josh Mueller* (South Dakota, Division II)

Chris Thomas* (Notre Dame)

C.J. Watson (Tennessee)

Deron Williams (Illinois)

*Also a finalist in 2004