Kansas Football To Hold Awards Ceremony Jan. 31

Jan. 21, 2009

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas football will hold its annual postseason Awards Ceremony in the Lied Center on campus on Saturday, Jan. 31 at 7:30 p.m. The public is invited at no cost.

The night will include the 2008 highlight video, comments from Chancellor Robert Hemenway, Director of Athletics Lew Perkins and Head Football Coach Mark Mangino. A number of awards will be presented to members of the football team.

This year the Jayhawks won the Insight Bowl to cap an 8-5 season. Kansas is one of only 19 Football Bowl Subdivision schools to post 20 victories in the last two seasons. The Jayhawks have played in bowl games in consecutive seasons for the first time in school history.

Ten Jayhawks were named All-Big 12, paced by first-team selection Darrell Stuckey and second-team picks Dezmon Briscoe and James Holt. In addition 12 players earned academic all-conference honors.

The Lied Center is located on the West Campus. The building can be accessed by turning west on 19th street off of Iowa Street and then heading north on Constant Avenue.

Season tickets for the 2009 season are on sale and if fans order online at http://www.kuathletics.com by Saturday, January 31 they can save $50 in handling fees. Reserved Season tickets are $300, the Family Plan is $450, and a new reserved season ticket—The Crimson Zone located in Section 1 & 2—is just $225.