Kansas Swimming and Diving Dominates UNI, USD

Jan. 22, 2011

Complete Results


Senior Iuliia Kuzhil, senior Amanda Maez and sophomore Stephanie Payne all won two events to help the University of Kansas defeat both Northern Iowa (161-91) and South Dakota (165.5-89.5) Saturday at Robinson Natatorium. The Jayhawks won 14-of-16 events in the double-dual and are now 9-5 in dual competition.

“This is really the end of a much longer training camp,” Kansas head coach Clark Campbell said. “So, I thought we really did well. It was a good way to end the training camp. We have trained and raced very well over the last three weeks, so now we just have to keep it going and get ready for Conference. We’ve got a weekend off, then we have Iowa State coming in. It’s going to be important that we have a good meet against IowaState, but the most important thing is to have a good showing at Big 12 Championships and we’re definitely in the right place right now.”

Kuzhil, a senior from Cherkasy, Ukraine, took first in both the 100-yard backstroke (58.19) and the 200-yard backstroke (2:00.40). Maez placed first the 100-yard freestyle (52.97) and tied for first in the 50-yard freestyle with Kansas freshman Shelby Cox (24.49). Payne won the 100-yard breaststroke (1:06.82) and the 200-yard IM (2:08.33).

Other KU winners included freshman Malia Johnson, who won the 1000-yard freestyle (10:18.95), sophomore Monica Johannessen, who took first in the 200-yard freestyle (1:53.29), senior captain Joy Bunting, who was crowned champion of the 200-yard butterfly (2:04.83), Alison Lusk, who placed first in the 200-yard breaststroke (2:21.90), sophomore Rebecca Swank, who won the 500-yard freestyle (4:58.90) and senior captain Brittany Potter, who took first in the 100-yard butterfly (57.41).

On the diving side, sophomore Christy Cash recorded a career-best performance on the one-meter board with a score of 272.25 and qualified for the Zone Diving meet in March.

KU will return to Robinson Natatorium Feb. 4-5 for a two-day dual against IowaState. The meet is set to begin at 6 p.m. on Feb. 4 and 10 a.m. on Feb. 5.