Kansas Soccer Hands Out Team Awards at Annual Banquet

Jan. 23, 2010


The Kansas soccer team held its annual banquet and postseason awards reception Saturday evening in the Naismith Room at Allen Fieldhouse.

Four different Jayhawks were honored by their teammates for their efforts during the season. Senior Estelle Johnson garnered two awards, the team’s Defensive MVP as well as the “Speedy” Gonzalez Hustle Award. Senior Monica Dolinsky was tabbed the team’s Offensive MVP, while freshman Shelby Williamson was named the Rookie of the Year. Junior defender Geneva Magness earned the Jayhawks’ Most Improved Player award.

Along with handing out awards, the Jayhawks recognized the five-member senior class, which was made up of Kim Boyer, Monica Dolinsky, Julie Hanley, Estelle Johnson and Shannon McCabe. The seniors spoke and thanked their teammates, coaches and parents for all their efforts throughout their KU careers.

The banquet wrapped up with a team highlight video produced by Rock, Chalk Video.