Jayhawk Track Competes Well at Home

Jan. 28, 2005

Final Stats | Photo Gallery

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Over 900 athletes from 35 different schools competed at the 18th annual Jayhawk Invitational, Friday at the Anschutz Sports Pavilion and the Bill Easton Track. The Kansas men’s and women’s track and field teams recorded 14 first place finishes in the non-scored event.

The KU women’s team scored nine first place finishes. Senior Brooklyn Hann posted the second-best time in school history in the 60-meter hurdles as she won the event handily with a time of 8.52. Hann replaced her own personal record in the event. Fellow senior Kim Clark placed first in the 800 with a best effort of 2:14.87.

A pair of KU juniors also recorded first place finishes. Tiffany Cherry won the 60-meters with a time of 7.56, while Angela Pichardo took first place in the 1,000-meters with a time of 2:57.47.

Senior Amy Linnen won the pole vault in convincing fashion with a best effort of 12-05.50. Junior Abby Emsick had her best throw of the indoor season as she won the shot put with a toss of 48-11.00. Freshman Connie Abbott rounded out the first place finishers as she won the mile in 5:17.71.

KU’s 4×800 relay team of Megan Foster, Megan Manthe, Shatoya Hill and Erin Wessely also took first place with a time of 9:52.13.

Other notable finishes for the women’s team included senior Sondra Rauterkus’s second place finish in the high jump (5-06.00) and sophomore Melissa O’Rourke’s third place finish in the 1,000-meters (3:00.57).

On the men’s side, the Jayhawks finished one-two in two events. Junior Sheldon Battle continued his dominance in the weight throw as he won the event with a best throw of 65-04.25. Senior teammate Colin Dutton finished second in the event with a personal best throw of 59-02.00.

KU also took the top two spots in the 1,000-meters. Junior Cameron Schwehr won the event in 2:25.72, while junior Joshy Madathil placed a close second in 2:26.52.

Kansas scored two middle distance victories on the day. Senior Jeremy Mims placed first in the 800-meters with a time of 1:51.48, while freshman Matt Baysinger scored his first career victory as he took top honors in the 600-yards with a time of 1:11.44.

Freshman Colby Wissell rounded out the individual with a first place finish in the 3,000-meters in 8:26.26.

The KU men’s 4×400 relay team of Baysinger, Anthon Bowleg, Adrian Ludwig and Julius Jiles, won the event in 3:15.53.

Other notable finishes for the Jayhawk men included junior Brett Terp’s third place finish in the high jump (6-08.00), and sophomore Scott Kaserman’s fourth place finish in the 800-meters.

“We had a lot of freshman that performed well today and that is very exciting,” Kansas head track coach Stanley Redwine said. “We also had a good mix of performances from our upperclassmen as well.

“Our team is starting to do what we are expecting them to do and what they are capable of doing,” Redwine added. “It is always great to have those performances at home.”

Former Jayhawk national champion and All-American Leo Bookman scored two victories as he returned home to compete for team Nike. Bookman won the 60-meters (6.66) and the 200-meters (21.23).

The Jayhawks will travel to Lincoln, Neb., next weekend to compete in the Husker Invitational.