Kansas Soccer Hands Out Awards at Annual Banquet

Feb. 1, 2009

Lawrence, Kan. –

The Kansas soccer team held its annual banquet and postseason awards reception Sunday morning in the Naismith Room at Allen Fieldhouse.

Five different Jayhawks were honored by their teammates for their efforts during the season. Freshman Kortney Clifton was named the Jayhawks’ Rookie of the Year, while junior Shannon McCabe earned the Most Improved Player award. Junior Estelle Johnson was named the Defensive MVP, while junior Monica Dolinsky garnered Offensive MVP honors. Senior Missy Geha was given the “Speedy Gonzalez” Heart and Soul Award.

Along with handing out awards, the Jayhawks recognized the six-member senior class, which was made up of Stephanie Baugh, Jessica Bush, Missy Geha, Kristin Graves, Jenny Murtaugh and Sara Rogers. The seniors spoke and thanked their teammates, coaches and parents for all their efforts throughout their KU careers.

The banquet wrapped up with a team highlight video produced by Rock, Chalk Video.