Kansas Signs 20 Players For 2012 Football Season

Feb. 1, 2012

Transcript of Weis’ Press Conference

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas Head Football Coach Charlie Weis and his staff hit the ground running upon being hired in mid-December, collecting a total of 20 signatures for its 2012 football class released Wednesday.

KU received signatures from 17 players on Wednesday, in addition to the three players who were previously announced as mid-year transfers in Dayne Crist, Jake Heaps and Justin McCay. In all, the Jayhawks inked 11 offensive players and nine defensive players.

Weis and his staff put together one of the top quarterback classes of all-time with Crist and Heaps both rated as five-star players by Rivals.com and Scout.com as high school seniors and City College of San Francisco signal caller Taylor Baty joining the mix on Wednesday as a three-star prospect by both websites.

KU signed junior college All-Americans in running back Taylor Cox and defensive lineman Jordan Tavai. Tavai was one of four defensive linemen to join the Jayhawks on Wednesday as Keon Stowers and Ty McKinney arrive in Lawrence by way of junior college and Tyler Holmes comes to KU straight from high school.

Six players from the state of Texas are going to become Jayhawks, including Dallas-Ft. Worth area natives Courtney Arnick, Holmes and McKinney; Houston area natives Greg Allen and Ty’ree Williams and Waco area native Jordan Smith.

Kansas signed three players from the California in Los Angeles area players Crist and Tavai and San Francisco area native Baty.

KU’s Sunflower state signees include Brian Beckmann (Blue Valley West) and Tre Parmalee (Bishop Miege), both of Overland Park.

2012 Kansas Signing Class Notables

By Previous School
High School: 9
Junior College: 8
Four Year Transfers: 3

By State
Texas: 6
California: 3
Kansas: 2
Missouri: 2
Washington: 2
Florida: 1
Georgia: 1
Ohio: 1
Maryland: 1
South Carolina: 1

By Position
Offense: 11

QB: 3
RB: 1
OL: 2
WR: 3
TE: 2

Defense: 9

DL: 4
LB: 2
DB: 3

Metro Areas (high school)
Nasir Moore (Peachtree Ridge)
Dallas/Ft. Worth:
Courtney Arnick (Carter), Tyler Holmes (Sachse), Ty McKinney (Zion Academy)
Greg Allen (Alief Taylor), Ty’ree Williams (Dulles)
Kansas City:
Justin McCay, Tre Parmalee (Bishop Miege), Brian Beckmann (Blue Valley West)
Los Angeles:
Dayne Crist (Notre Dame), Jordan Tavai (Mira Costa)
San Francisco:
Turner Baty (Menlo-Atherton)
Taylor Cox (Jackson), Jake Heaps (Skyline)
St. Louis:
Charles Brooks (Maplewood)
Schyler Miles (Berkeley Prep)
Washington D.C.:
Josh Ford (Coolidge)