Three Jayhawks Headline 10th Anniversary Team

Feb. 11, 2006


The Big 12 Conference has announced its Men’s Basketball 10th Anniversary Team, as selected by a combined media panel and on-line fan voting. Former Jayhawk greats Nick Collison, Kirk Hinrich and Raef LaFrentz highlight the squad, taking three of the five spots. The other players selected were T.J. Ford from Texas and Marcus Fizer from Iowa State. In order to be eligible for consideration, candidates must have been an All-Big 12 First Team selection at least once in their careers.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Anniversary teams are being chosen for each conference sports during the 2005-06 season in celebration of the Big 12’s 10th Anniversary.

Nearly 5,000 fans participated in on-line voting through the league’s web site. Fan polling will also be conducted this spring for baseball and softball anniversary teams.

Photos of all honorees can be downloaded at the conference web site at: