Kansas Student Section Advances to Semifinals of Naismith Voting

Feb. 15, 2012

Vote Now (Must log in to Facebook)

I Love College Hoops VoteThe University of Kansas basketball student section has advanced to the semifinal round of the inaugural Naismith Student Section of the Year Award balloting. KU garnered the most votes in the preliminary round among nearly 80 Division I basketball schools vying for the award. That vote narrow the field to 16 semifinal schools, and now the voting begins.

Jayhawk alumni, students, staff and fans — and all their Facebook friends — can make the KU student section Number One in the country by voting often until February 24. KU fans can vote by visiting www.facebook.com/ILoveCollegeHoops. Fans are allowed to vote once per day.

“KU fans did a great job in the first-round vote,” said Jim Marchiony, Associate Athletics Director at KU. “Our students need our fans to keep visiting the I Love College Hoops Facebook page, and vote for our dedicated student fans.”

The top eight schools receiving the most votes in the semifinal round will be sent to the Naismith Awards Board of selectors for final award selection. The Naismith Awards Board of Selectors will review criteria such as the student section’s name and attendance, as well as photos, video, and a write-up submitted by the nominating school, which will aid in determining the winning student section. Complete details on the selection process can be found at Facebook.com/ilovecollegehoops.

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which is presented through a partnership of The Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), a division of IMG College, and the Atlanta Tipoff Club, administrators of the Naismith Awards, is dedicated to celebrating fans that love college hoops and provide support to their college basketball team with devotion and passion.