Kansas Football Announces Team Awards

Feb. 16, 2011

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas Head Football Coach Turner Gill announced the Jayhawks’ season team awards Wednesday. In all 14 honors were handed out by the coaching staff for the 2010 season.

Daymond Patterson earned the team’s offensive player of the year and top wide receiver awards, while Jake Laptad captured the defensive player of the year and defensive lineman of the year. Alonso Rojas was tabbed the special teams player of the year, as well as KU’s top specialist.

Patterson led the team with 60 receptions for 487 yards during his junior season. He caught at least five passes in nine games. His best reception total was eight for 75 yards against Colorado, while his best yardage total was 85 yards on seven receptions against Georgia Tech.

Laptad led the KU linemen with 38 tackles, 8.5 tackles for loss, 4.5 sacks and three forced fumbles. For his efforts, the senior co-captain earned All-Big 12 Honorable Mention honors from both the league coaches and the Associated Press. He finished his career second on the school’s sacks list with 21 and fifth in tackles for loss with 33.5.

Rojas, ranked seventh in the Big 12 and 40th in the NCAA with a 42.41 punting average his senior season. He recorded at least one 50-yard punt in 11 of 12 games on the season. He earned All-Big 12 Honorable Mention honors for the second straight season. Rojas finished his KU career with the sixth-best punting average in school history at 41.5 yards per punt.

Senior Brad Thorson was tabbed the top offensive lineman, freshman James Sims the top backfield player (quarterbacks and running backs) and junior Tim Biere the top tight end to round out the offensive honors.

Defensively, senior Justin Springer was the top linebacker and senior Chris Harris the top defensive back.

KU also awarded Compete Team (scout team) players of the year. Jimmay Mundine was the offensive winner, Darius Willis the defensive selection and Ray Mitchell the special teams pick.

2010 Kansas Football Team Awards

Offensive Player of the Year – Daymond Patterson

Defensive Player of the Year – Jake Laptad

Special Teams Player of the Year – Alonso Rojas

Offensive Line – Brad Thorson

Offensive Backfield – James Sims

Wide Receiver – Daymond Patterson

Tight End – Tim Biere

Defensive Line – Jake Laptad

Linebacker – Justin Springer

Defensive Back – Chris Harris

Specialist – Alonso Rojas

Compete Team Offensive Player of the Year – Jimmay Mundine

Compete Team Defensive Player of the Year – Darius Willis

Compete Special Teams Player of the Year – Ray Mitchell