Marcus Morris Named Oscar Robertson Trophy Finalist

Feb. 28, 2011

ST. LOUIS – Kansas junior Marcus Morris was named one of 10 finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy presented by the United States Basketball Writers Association of America (USBWA) on Feb. 28.

Morris leads Kansas in scoring at 17.3 points per game, which ranks fifth in the Big 12. The Philadelphia, Pa., forward averages 19.0 points in Big 12 play, which is third in the league and leads the conference in shooting percentage at 60.7 percent. He has nine games with 20-plus points this season and has led Kansas in scoring 14 times. His 6.9 rebounds per game are tied for 10th in the Big 12 and he has five double-doubles this season. Morris has led KU in every statistical category at least once this season. He has been named Big 12 Player of the Week three times (Nov. 29, Jan. 17 and Feb. 14) and was named a Wooden Award Mid-Season candidate Jan. 6 and Naismith Mid-Season candidate Feb. 11.

Last season, KU’s Sherron Collins and Cole Aldrich were finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

The presentation of this year’s Oscar Robertson Trophy will take place on Friday, April 1, at the USBWA’s annual awards breakfast at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston in conjunction with the NCAA Men’s Final Four. The breakfast will also honor the winner of the Henry Iba Award, the association’s coach of the year and will announce the winner of the first Wayman Tisdale National Freshman of the Year Award.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of nearly 900 journalists.