Soccer Opens Spring Season With Alumni Game Saturday

Feb. 29, 2012

LAWRENCE, Kan. – A full roster of former letterwinners are scheduled to make their return to the Jayhawk Soccer Complex this weekend as the Kansas soccer team will take on KU alumni in its spring season debut on Saturday, March 3 at 1 p.m.

The 21-person alumni roster spans 15 years of Kansas soccer and includes the Jayhawks’ all-time leading goal scorer in Caroline Smith (2002-05) as well as Cynthia (Dahle) Remke, who played on head coach Mark Francis’ first squad at Kansas in 1996. Several recent four-year letterwinners will also take the field including Kelsey Clifton, Kortney Clifton and Jordyn Perdue from KU’s 2011 NCAA Tournament team.

KU’s current team features all 11 starters from 2011 and 17 letterwinners overall. In 2011, the Jayhawks made their fifth NCAA Tournament appearance in program history and first since 2008 on their way to an 11-9-1 overall mark. Kansas is led by All-Big 12 performers Whitney Berry and Ingrid Vidal. The pair combined for 57 of the team’s 131 points last fall. The KU defense will be anchored by junior Shelby Williamson, who has started all 62 games of her career, including all 21 contests in 2011.

Saturday’s contest kicks off the Jayhawks’ six-game spring season. Following its alumni match, Kansas will host Nebraska (March 10) and South Dakota State (March 31) before traveling to Iowa for a pair of games on April 15. KU wraps up spring competition welcoming Missouri State on April 22.

Below is a list of all alumni attending Saturday’s contest:

Maryl Behm (2010-11)

Kelsey Clifton (2008-11)

Kortney Clifton (2008-11)

Cynthia (Dahle) Remke (1996-99)

Erin Ellefson (2007-10)

Sarah Gonzalez (2000-03)

Natalie (Hoogveld) Krueger (1998-2001)

Lauren Jackson (2007-10)

Jessica (Kilpatrick) Dickson (2003-04, 2006)

Erin Lewis (2007-10)

Maggie (Mason) Dixon (2000-03)

Sierra Miramontez (2008-10)

Rachel Morris (2007-10)

Jordyn Perdue (2008-11)

Colleen Quinn (2004-07)

Michelle (Rasmussen) Webb (2003-06)

Caroline Smith (2002-05)

Jessica Smith (2002-05)

Emily Strinden (2004-07)

Nikki (Wahle) Barrett (1999-2002)

Lacey Woolf (2001-03)