Five Jayhawks Highlight Big 12 Academic Teams

March 1, 2006


The Big 12 Conference has named 21 student-athletes to the 2006 Academic All-Big 12 Men’s Basketball Team, the league office announced. Kansas placed a league-high five student-athletes on the squad — four first-team selections and one on the second team.

The five Kansas honorees ties the 1996-97 KU team for the most Jayhawks on an individual Academic All-Big 12 team. Christian Moody is on the first team for the third straight year. Moulaye Niang, who is not playing this season for medical reasons, is on the team since he is a senior on athletic scholarship. His GPA does count toward the APR for men’s basketball. Niang is earning the honor for the second time as he was also an Academic All-Big 12 Second Team selection in 2004. Jeremy Case, Sasha Kaun and Stephen Vinson are appearing on the team for the first time.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the academic allleague men’s basketball team consisted of 14 first team members combined with seven on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA. To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The 2006 Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship returns to the American Airlines Center in Dallas on March 9-12. The four-day, 11-game event was contested at the same venue in 2003 and ’04. Four different teams have won the nine Phillips 66 Big 12 Championships. Kansas and Oklahoma have recorded three apiece, while Oklahoma State has earned two and Iowa State one. The Cowboys have claimed both of their titles in the last two years. OU (2003) and OSU are the only teams to win championship crowns at American Airlines Center.