Boyd, Catic, Kohn And McIntosh Named First Team Academic All-Big 12

March 5, 2008


The Big 12 Conference has named 37 student-athletes to the 2008 Academic All-Big 12 Women’s Basketball Team, the league office announced. Jamie Boyd, Ivana Catic, Kelly Kohn and Taylor McIntosh each represented Kansas on this year’s team.

Boyd, a senior from Underwood, Iowa, was named to the First Team for the third-straight year. Boyd will graduate from KU in the spring of 2009 with a degree in Communication Studies and Community Health.Catic, a junior guard from Zrenjanin, Serbia, picked up First Team honors for the second-straight season. She is currently majoring in management and leadership. Kohn, a sophomore from Adrian, Mich., was a first time honoree. She is majoring in communication studies. McIntosh nabbed First Team honors for the second time in her career. She was also on the First Team as a sophomore. The Wichita, Kan. native earned Second Team honors as a junior. McIntosh will graduate from KU in May with a degree in human biology.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the women’s basketball academic all-league team consisted of 27 first team members combined with 10 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The 2008 Phillips 66 Big 12 Women’s Basketball Championship returns to Kansas City’s Municipal Auditorium on March 11-13 & 15 for the eighth time in conference history. Kansas City hosted the first six women’s postseason events from 1997-2002, in addition to the 2005 championship.