Collins and Aldrich Named to NABC All-District 8 Team

March 5, 2009

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas junior guard Sherron Collins and sophomore center Cole Aldrich were each named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) District 8 First team, as the organization released its all-district teams Thursday.

Joining Collins and Aldrich on the first team were Craig Brackins of Iowa State, Blake Griffin of Oklahoma and DeMarre Carroll of Missouri.

Collins leads No. 9 Kansas (24-6, 13-2 Big 12) in scoring in conference play with 18.3 points per contest. Overall, the Chicago, Ill., native is averaging 18.2 points per game and leads the team with 148 assists.

Aldrich, a native of Bloomington, Minn., is averaging 14.5 points per game in Big 12 play. He leads the conference in blocked shots (74) and is second in rebounding (10.5 rpg) and field goal percentage (.606).

Last season the Jayhawks had four players selected to NABC all-district teams. Brandon Rush and Mario Chalmers were selected to the District 12 First team, while Darrell Arthur and Darnell Jackson were named to the Second team.

District 8

First Team

Sherron Collins, Kansas

Blake Griffin, Oklahoma

Craig Brackins, Iowa State

DeMarre Carroll, Missouri

Cole Aldrich, Kansas

Second Team

AJ Abrams, Texas

Damion James, Texas

James Anderson, Oklahoma State

Willie Warren, Oklahoma

Curtis Jerrells, Baylor