Collins One of Six Finalists for Bob Cousy Award

March 5, 2010


The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. announced today that Kansas senior Sherron Collins is one of the final six candidates for the Bob Cousy Award.

The annual award is given to college basketball’s top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtics guard Bob Cousy.

A Hall of Fame appointed, nationally-based committee nominated 73 candidates made up of players from Division I, II and III schools across the country in January for the award. The committee trimmed the list to 20 and then 11 in February. The selection criteria emphasize leadership, team work, success, and fundamentals as being critical parts for the game of basketball as a point guard.

Other remaining candidates include Scottie Reynolds (Villanova), Jon Scheyer (Duke), Evan Turner (Ohio State), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and John Wall (Kentucky).

The winner of the 2010 Bob Cousy Award will be announced on April 1 and the award presentation will be at the Final Four on April 5.