Three Jayhawks Named to the 2008 Academic All-Big 12 Men's Basketball Team

March 6, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

IRVING, Texas — Kansas seniors Sasha Kaun, Jeremy Case and Russell Robinson are among the 20 student-athletes named to the 2008 Academic All-Big 12 Men’s Basketball Team, the league office announced Thursday.

Kaun and Case earned first-team accolades, while Robinson is a second-team member. Kaun is appearing on the team for the third straight season. Case, who graduated from KU in May 2007, is a first-team honoree for the second time. Robinson is appearing on the team for the first time in his career. He and Kaun will graduate from KU this May.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the men’s basketball academic all-league team consisted of 10 first team members combined with 10 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship will return to <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Kansas City in 2008 at the newly-opened SprintCenter. It will be the home of the league championship for three of the next four seasons. The four-day, 11-game event is scheduled for March 13-16 in the final year of a Thursday – Sunday format.

Four different teams have won the 11 previous titles at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship. Kansas has won the most with five crowns, followed by Oklahoma (3), OklahomaState (2) and IowaState (1). The Jayhawks captured the postseason title the last two years, their first since winning the initial three league postseason championships from 1997-99.

2008 Academic All-Big 12 Men’s Basketball Team

First Team (3.20-plus GPA; * – indicates nominated with a 4.00 GPA)

Name, School, Class, Major, Hometown

Josh Lomers, Baylor, So., Pre-Business, Boerne, Texas

Mark Shepherd, Baylor, Sr., MBA, Austin, Texas

Jeremy Case, KANSAS, Sr., Graduate courses, McAlester, Okla.

Sasha Kaun, KANSAS, Sr., Computer Science, Melbourne, Fla.

Clent Stewart, Kansas State, Sr., Business – MIS, Tulsa, Okla.

Paul Velander, Nebraska, Jr., Biological Sciences, Blacksburg, Va.

Connor Atchley, Texas, Jr., Corporate Communications, Clear Lake, Texas

D.J. Augustin, Texas, So., Education, New Orleans, La.

Damion James, Texas, So., Education, Nacogdoches, Texas

Dexter Pittman, Texas, So., Education, Rosenberg, Texas

Second Team (3.00 to 3.19 GPA)

Name, School, Class, Major, Hometown

Mark Currie, IowaState, Sr., Civil Engineering, Odebolt, Iowa

Alex Thompson, IowaState, Jr., Political Science, Ames, Iowa

Russell Robinson, KANSAS, Sr., Communication Studies, New York, N.Y.

Matt Lawrence, Missouri, Jr., Finance, St. Louis, Mo.

Taylor Griffin, Oklahoma, Jr., Pre-Health/Exercise Science, Oklahoma City, Okla.
Austin Johnson, Oklahoma, Jr., Sociology-Criminology, Amarillo, Texas

Justin Mason, Texas, So., Education, Amarillo, Texas

Ian Mooney, Texas, Sr., Advertising – Graduate, Austin, Texas

Chinemelu Elonu, Texas A&M, So., Agricultural Leadership, Houston, Texas

Trevor Cook, Texas Tech, So., Business Economics, Coppell, Texas