Jayhawks Receive Team Awards At Football Awards Ceremony

March 8, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas football celebrated its remarkable 2007 season with a public awards ceremony in Allen Fieldhouse Saturday night. The event was attended by an estimated 5,000 Jayhawk fans.

The public gathering recognized a great season of Kansas football, which featured a FedEx Orange Bowl victory against Virginia Tech, a 12-1 record, a final national ranking of seventh, and a share of the Big 12 North Championship.

The record-breaking season saw head coach Mark Mangino earn numerous national coach of the year awards. Cornerback Aqib Talib and offensive tackle Anthony Collins both earned All-America First-Team honors, while defensive tackle James McClinton was a second-team pick.

On Saturday, the team handed out their own awards, while fans were treated to a speech from Mangino, highlight videos and an autograph session. Fans rose to their feet after the season recap video, which concluded with the Orange Bowl victory.

Mangino thanked the fans and told them Kansas football had good kids who do the right things and represent the University well. He talked about how they overcame doubters, believed in each other and focused on the task at hand.

Mangino also told the crowd that the Orange Bowl was not a destination, but a stepping stone for great things to come.

Talib and McClinton shared the Ray Evans Award, given to the team’s most valuable defensive players. Quarterback Todd Reesing earned the John Hadl Award as the team’s most valuable offensive player. In all, 15 different team awards were handed out Saturday night.

The Jayhawk seniors were also recognized and given framed jerseys. KU’s senior class included Marcus Anderson, Rameses Arceo, Derek Fine, Jeff Foster, Marcus Henry, Marc Jones, Brandon McAnderson, James McClinton, Sadiq Muhammed, Cesar Rodriguez, Brian Seymour, Kyle Tucker, and Scott Webb.

Kansas Team Honors

Senior Academic Scholar – Brian Seymour

Otto Schnellbacher Award (Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year) – A.J. Steward

George Mrkonic Award (Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year – Richard Johnson

Offensive Lineman of the Year – Anthony Collins

Iron Hawk (Weight Room) – Kerry Meier and James McClinton

Most Improved Offensive Player – Marcus Henry

Most Improved Defensive Player – Joe Mortensen

Galen Fiss Award (Exemplary services to the campus and community) – Mike Rivera

Willie Pless Award (Most tackles for the season) – Joe Mortensen

Nolan Cromwell Award (Leadership) – Brandon McAnderson

Don Fambrough Award (Unselfish player) – Kerry Meier

Gale Sayers Award (Courage) – Ryan Cantrell

Bruce Kallmeyer Award (Special Teams MVP) – Marcus Herford and

Derek Fine

John Hadl (Offensive MVP) – Todd Reesing

Ray Evans (Defensive MVP) – Aqib Talib and James McClinton