Big 12 Regular-Season Champion Kansas to Open Conference Championship Friday at 6 p.m.

March 9, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office” />

<?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags” />IRVING, Texas – The University of Kansas and the University of Texas will share the 2007-08 Big 12 men’s basketball regular season title. It marks the third crown for the Longhorns and eighth overall for the Jayhawks, who have won or shared four in a row.

KU will enters the Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship as the No. 2 seed and will face the winner of the Thursday, Nebraska or Missouri match up on Friday, at 6 p.m., at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Mo. Kansas has won the last two Phillips 66 Big 12 Championships in Dallas in 2006 and Oklahoma City last year.

UT and KU both finished 13-3 in league play. The Longhorns are the No. 1 seed in the Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship based on its head-to-head win over the Jayhawks.

The entire Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship will be televised either regionally or nationally by ESPN Plus, ESPN, ESPN2 or ESPNU.

Kansas City, Missouri – SprintCenter (all times are Central)

Thursday, March 13
No. 8 Texas Tech vs. No. 9 Oklahoma State (ESPN2), 11:30 a.m.

No. 5 Baylor vs. No. 12 Colorado (ESPN Plus and ESPNU), 2 p.m.

No. 7 Nebraska vs. No. 10 Missouri (ESPN Plus), 6 p.m.

No. 6 Texas A&M vs. No. 11 IowaState (ESPN2), 8:30 p.m.

Friday, March 14

No. 1 Texas vs. TTU/OSU winner (ESPN Plus and ESPNU), 11:30 a.m.

No. 4 Oklahoma vs. BU/CU winner (ESPN Plus and ESPNU), 2 p.m.

No. 2 KANSAS vs. NU/MU winner (ESPN Plus), 6 p.m.

No. 3 Kansas State vs. TAMU/ISU winner (ESPN Plus), 8:20 p.m.

Saturday, March 15
Friday Afternoon Winners (ESPN Plus and ESPN2**), 1 p.m.

Friday Evening Winners (ESPN Plus and ESPN2**), 3:20 p.m.

Sunday, March 16
Semifinal Winners (ESPN), 2 p.m.

All times listed as Central and subject to change

** – Telecast shown on ESPN Plus stations in Big 12 markets, on ESPN2 nationally