Koelbel Leads Jayhawks During Day One at Louisiana Classics

March 9, 2009


Click Here For Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

Walt Koelbel shot back-to-back under par rounds to lead the Kansas Men’s Golf team during day one at the Louisiana Classics at Oakbourne Country Club. The team shot two-straight rounds of 296 to enter the final round tied for 10th.

Koelbel, the senior Cherry Hills Village, Colo. native, enters the final round of play tied for second place, trailing leader Cedric Scotto of Southeastern Louisiana by one stroke. Koelbel recorded a tournament-best 10 birdies on day one.

Junior Bryan Hackenberg, who is competing in the event as an individual, tied for the low-round of the day with a first round 66. Hackenberg followed that up with a second round 76 and is tied for 11th place.

“We had a few guys, especially Walt, that played real well for us today but the rest of the guys struggled,” said head coach Kit Grove. “Bryan Hackenberg was very good as well today and we really could have used him for the team.”

Sophomore Nate Barbee continued his steady play with a combined first day score of 145 and is tied for 17th entering round three. Barbee will be attempting to finish in the top-20 for the fourth time this season.

Freshman Ian Anson is tied for 60th place after day one with 154 strokes. Senior Zach Pederson is tied for 64th place with 155 strokes. Junior Bobby Knowles will enter the final round of play tied for 82nd place.

University of New Orleans is currently leading the event with 569 strokes through two rounds. The host school, Louisiana-Lafayette, is in second place with 571 strokes.

Check back to kuathletics.com for a complete recap and results of the final round at the 2009 Louisiana Classics.

Team Leaderboard

1. New Orleans (288-281–569)

2. Louisiana-Lafayette (279-292–571)

T3. Rice (282-293–575)

T3. Southeastern Louisiana (279-296–575)

5. Texas State (283-293–576)

T10. Kansas (296-296–592)

Player Leaderboard

1. Cedric Scotto, Southeastern Louisiana (68-69–137)

T2. Walt Koelbel, Kansas (70-68–138)

T2. Felipe Velazquez, UALR (66-72–138)

T2. Devin Carrey, Louisiana-Lafayette (69-69–138)

5. Jose Toledo, New Orleans (71-68–139)

T11. Bryan Hackenberg-I, Kansas (66-76–142)

T17. Nate Barbee, Kansas (71-74–145)

T60. Ian Anson, Kansas (79-75–154)

T64. Zach Pederson, Kansas (76-79–155)

T82. Bobby Knowles, Kansas (80-83–163)