Eleven Jayhawks Receive Big 12 Conference's Highest Academic Honor

March 9, 2011


Eleven Jayhawks have earned the inaugural Dr. Gerald Lage award, the Big 12 Conference’s highest academic honor.

Jeff Bell, Brian Blackwell, Melanie Luthi, Paige Mazour, Jaci Perryman, Lauren Pollmiller, Alyssa Potter, Brittany Potter, Stacy Rachow, Nicole Schneider and Jareb Stallbaumer were among the 93 total student-athletes selected for the award by the Big 12 Conference.

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of nomination.

The honor is in memory of Lage, who served as Oklahoma State’s faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference for 24 years until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions, in 1985-86, 1993-94 and most recently in 2003-04. Lage began his tenure at OSU when he became an assistant professor at OSU’s College of Business Administration.

The Dr. Gerald Lage award winners will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships this week.