Brad Hopfinger and Walt Koelbel Lead the Jayhawks During Day One at the Cajun Classic

March 10, 2008


Click Here for Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

Brad Hopfinger and Walt Koelbel, both who finished in the top-20, led the Jayhawks during the first day at the Cajun Classic at Oakbourne Country Club in Lafayette, La. The team finished tied for eighth place after day one with a score of 595 after holding the lead after round one.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

“We finally put it all together and played up to our potential in the first round,” said head coach Kit Grove. “Walt played a great round in round one and then Brad really played two solid rounds for us.”

Hopfinger is tied for 12th place after firing a two-round total of 146 during day one. Hopfinger’s first-round 72 marks his eighth round of the year of either par or better.

Koelbel tied his career-best round in round one with a 69 and is tied for 19th place with a total of 147 through two rounds.

Junior Zach Pederson is tied for 28th place with a total of 149 through two rounds. His first-round score of 72 marks his third round of the year of par or better.

Freshman Nate Barbee shot rounds of 76 and 77 and is currently tied for 52nd place. Junior Brandon Hermreck shot a first-day total of 156 and is tied for 64th. Junior Daniel Brumley is competing as an individual in the event and is tied for 66th place with a first day score of 157.

Colorado is atop the team leaderboard after day one with a two-round score of 583. Jordan Utley of Richmond holds the individual lead with a first day score of 140.

Check back to following the final round for a complete recap and results.

Team Leaderboard

1. Colorado (299-284–583)

2. Richmond (296-291–587)

3. Southeastern Louisiana (295-293–588)

4. SMU (297-292–589)

5. Louisiana-Lafayette (300-291–591)

T8. Kansas (289-306–595)

Player Leaderboard

1. Jordan Utley, Richmond (69-71–140)

2. Kelly Kraft, SMU (73-68–141)

T3. Scott Kelly, Sam Houston (73-71–144)

T3. Ryan Robertson, Louisiana Tech (72-72–144)

T3. Matt Hoffman, Illinois (Ind.) (73-71–144)

T3. Thomas Disch, Louisiana-Lafayette (72-72–144)

T12. Brad Hopfinger, Kansas (72-74–146)

T19. Walt Koebel, Kansas (69-78–147)

T28. Zach Pederson, Kansas (72-77–149)

T52. Nate Barbee, Kansas (76-77–153)

T64. Brandon Hermreck, Kansas (76-80–156)

T66. Daniel Brumley (Individual), Kansas (82-75–157)