Four Jayhawks Named to USBWA All-District VI Team

March 11, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>SAINT LOUIS – Four Kansas men’s basketball players were named to the United States Basketball Writer’s Association All-District VI team, the organization announced Tuesday. KU juniors Mario Chalmers and Brandon Rush along with senior Darnell Jackson and sophomore Darrell Arthur were named to the 10-man team.

The district is made of schools from Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. KansasState freshman Michael Beasley was named the district’s player of the year and Drake’s Keno Davis the coach of the year.

Rush is on the team for the third straight season, while the other three Jayhawks are appearing on the team for the first time.

Arthur leads No. 5 Kansas (28-3) in scoring with 13.4 points per game. He is second on the team with 6.1 rebounds per contest and leads KU with 44 blocked shots. Rush is next in scoring at 12.3 per outing and leads the team with 56 three-point field goals and is shooting 40.9 percent from beyond the arc. Chalmers is scoring 12.1 points per game and is second on the team with 51 three pointers. Chalmers leads the Big 12 in steals at 2.40 per game and is second in assists at 4.50 and third in assist-to-turnover ratio at 2.41. Jackson is scoring 12.1 per contest and he leads KU in rebounding at 6.9 per contest, which is seventh in the Big 12.



Darrell Arthur, Kansas

Michael Beasley, KansasState

Mario Chalmers, Kansas

Adam Emmenecker, Drake

Blake Griffin, Oklahoma

Darnell Jackson, Kansas

Aleks Maric, Nebraska

Brandon Rush, Kansas

Bill Walker, KansasState

Josh Young, Drake

PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Michael Beasley, KansasState

COACH OF THE YEAR – Keno Davis, Drake