Thomas Robinson Named USBWA All-American

March 12, 2012

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas junior forward Thomas Robinson was named to the 2011-12 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team it was announced Monday. The first team consists of five forwards, as the USBWA selected the nation’s top five players regardless of position.

Robinson is joined by Kentucky’s Anthony Davis, Michigan State’s Draymond Green, Ohio State’s Jared Sullinger and Creighton’s Doug McDermott. This marks the fourth-straight season that a Jayhawk has been named a USBWA All-American and 21st time overall. Last season, former Jayhawk Marcus Morris was named to the second team.

Robinson, a Washington, D.C. native, is averaging 17.9 points and 11.8 rebounds per game this season. He leads the Big 12 in double-doubles (23) and rebounds per game (11.8). His 23 double-doubles are tied for first nationally with Siena’s O.D. Anosike. Against eight nationally-ranked teams in 2011-12, Robinson averaged 19.8 points and 12.3 rebounds while shooting 55.6 percent.

Each of the first-team selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA’s National Player of the Year Award, as well as the Henry Iba Award, presented to the National Coach of the Year, will be announced next Monday, March 19. Both prestigious awards will be formally presented on Friday, March 30, at the 2012 USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast at the New Orleans Marriott in conjunction with the NCAA Men’s Final Four.

The Jayhawks will take on the No. 15-seeded Detroit from the Horizon League on Friday, March 16, at approximately 8:57 p.m. (Central) at the CenturyLink Center in Omaha, Neb. The game will be televised on truTV. Kansas will have an open practice in the venue on Thursday, March 15, from 5:10-5:50 p.m.

Robinson’s accolades for 2011-12
-USBWA First Team All-American
-John R. Wooden Award Finalist
-USBWA District VI Player of the Year National Player of the Year
-All-American First Team (The Sporting News)
-Big 12 Player of the Year (Big 12 & AP)
-All-Big 12 First Team (Big 12 & AP)
-Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year Midseason Watch List
Big 12 Player of the Week (2/27)
Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List
John R. Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 Candidate
-Dick Vitale’s No. 1 Midseason National Player of the Year (1/4)
Big 12 Player of the Week (1/2)
-Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week by the USBWA (12/11)
Big 12 Player of the Week (12/12)
-Big 12 Player of the Week (11/28)
-EA SPORTS Maui Invitational All-Tournament Team

All-time list of Jayhawks
1957 Wilt Chamberlain
1958 Wilt Chamberlain
1966 Walt Wesley
1968 Jo Jo White
1986 Danny Manning (Second team)
1987 Danny Manning
1988 Danny Manning
1996 Jacque Vaughn (Second team)
1997 Raef LaFrentz
1997 Jacque Vaughn (Second team)
1998 Raef LaFrentz
1998 Paul Pierce
2002 Drew Gooden
2003 Nick Collison
2005 Wayne Simien
2009 Sherron Collins (Second team)
2010 Sherron Collins
2010 Cole Aldrich (Second team)
2011 Marcus Morris (Second team)
2012 Thomas Robinson