Jayhawks Prepare for NCAA Indoor Championships

March 14, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>LAWRENCE, Kan. – RandalTysonTrackCenter will play host to the eight Jayhawks competing at the 2008 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships in Fayetteville, Ark. March 14-15. ESPN2 will air the meet on March 20 at 3 p.m.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Senior Egor Agafonov and sophomore Jordan Scott lead the men while seniors Crystal Manning and Kate Sultanova join juniors Nickesha Anderson, Stephanie Horton, Charity Stowers and Sha’Ray Butler on the women’s side.

“This is a great opportunity for them,” head coach Stanley Redwine said. “Our goal at the beginning of the year was for both of our teams to be ranked in the top-15. Now it’s time to make our goal a reality.”

Anderson will be the first Jayhawk to compete as she has three races on the first day of competition. The prelims of the 60-meter dash are at 6:30 p.m. (CST). Prelims for the 200-meter dash start at 7:35 p.m. with the finals taking place at 9:05 p.m. Scott will also compete on the first day as the pole vault begins at 7:15 p.m.

Day two will begin at 2 p.m. for Kansas with Egor Agafonov attempting to defend his national championship in the weight throw. Horton is in the shot put at 4:30 p.m. and Sultanova starts the pole vault at 5 p.m.

Coming off her Big 12 championship in the triple jump, Manning will begin competition at 6:30 p.m. She will then join Anderson, who competes in the finals of the 60 meters at 7:15 p.m., Stowers and Butler in the final event of the Championships. The school-record holding 1,600-meter relay team will start at 8:20 p.m.

Complete results of the NCAA Championships can be found at www.kuathletics.com.

Notables: NCAA Indoor Championships

— ESPN2 will air the 2008 NCAA Indoor Championships on March 20 at 3 p.m.

— Six is the highest amount of women that KU has qualified for the NCAA Indoor’s since the beginning of Coach Redwine’s tenure.

— Senior Egor Agafonov will be the first Jayhawk to have a chance to defend his indoor national title since Leo Bookman did so successfully in the 200 meters in 2004.

— Bookman, Karl Salb (shot put) and Jim Ryun (mile) are KU’s only multiple indoor national champs.

— Senior Kate Sultanova is looking to become the first KU female to repeat as indoor All-American since Andrea Branson in 2000.

— Agafonov could mark the fifth straight year in which a Jayhawk has earned All-America honors in the weight throw.

— Kansas’ women have not finished higher than 15th (1996) at the NCAA Indoor Championships. Their highest team finish at Nationals is third at the 1979 AIAW Championships. The men have won three NCAA indoor titles.

— Kansas’ women have just one All-American relay team, the DMR in 1996 (K. Woolheater, L. Holloway, K. Kloster and M. Swartz).

— The Jayhawks have had at least two men win All-America honors in each of the last three indoor seasons.

— No Jayhawk woman has ever won All-America honors in the triple jump, 60-meter dash or 200-meter dash.