Kansas Guard Sherron Collins Collecting Postseason Honors

March 16, 2009

, Kan. – Kansas junior Sherron Collins has been named to the 2008-09 U.S. Basketball Writers Association’s All-America Second Team, it was announced Monday. The 5-11 guard from Chicago, Ill., is the fourth Jayhawk to earn USBWA All-America honors since 2002. Collins leads Kansas and is fourth in the Big 12 with 18.3 points per game to go with 5.0 assists and earned All-Big 12 First Team honors. He has 11 games, seven in conference play, of 20 or more points for the Big 12 regular-season champion Jayhawks.

Collins becomes the first KU player since Wayne Simien in 2005 (first team) to be honored by the USBWA. Nick Collison (first team, 2003) and Drew Gooden (first team, 2002) were also named to the All-America team this decade.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.

Collins now has two All-America honors in 2008-09, as he was also selected to the Sporting News All-America Third Team.

Collins and Kansas (25-7) are set to travel to Minneapolis, Minn., for the first round of the NCAA Tournament. The No. 3 seed Jayhawks will face off with No. 14 seed North Dakota State (26-6) Friday, March 20, at 11:30 a.m. CDT at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome.