Jayhawk Men And Women Finish Second at Mayaguez Spring Break Classic

March 20, 2011

MAYAGUEZ, Puerto Rico –

Kansas men’s and women’s track and field teams each captured second place finishes at the 2011 Mayaguez Spring Break Classic over the weekend, with the women’s team tallying 90 points and the men’s team recording 71 points at the meet.

Junior middle distance runner Cori Christensen and sophomore jumper Francine Simpson each recorded second place finishes for the KU women. Christensen was the runner up in the 3,000 meters with her time of 10:18.96, while Simpson finished second with her leap of 6.07 meters (19-11.00 ft.).

Freshman thrower Jessica Maroszek claimed a second place finish in the discus with her mark of 49.44 meters (162-02 ft.). She also claimed a third place finish in the shot put with her toss of 13.79 meters (45-03.00 ft.).

The KU women had several scorers in the pole vault as junior Julia Cummings finished second with her height of 3.80 meters (12-05.50 ft.). Fellow Jayhawk freshman Demi Payne was fifth (3.65m, 11-11.75 ft.) and senior Jaci Perryman (3.50m, 11-05.75 ft.).

The Jayhawk women’s relay teams also fared well, claiming a first place finish in the 4×400-meter relay and a second place time in the 4×100-meter relay. The 4×400-meter relay team composed of Kendra Bradley, Denesha Morris, Shayla Wilson and Taylor Washington clocked in at 3:37.33, while Morris and Bradley teamed up with Simpson and Diamond Dixon for a time of 45.34 in the 4×100-meter relay.

Freshman Josh Munsch and junior Joel Krause recorded first place finishes for the Jayhawk men. Munsch clocked in at 8:39.29 in the 3,000 meters for the win, while Krause claimed the discus title with his mark of 45.02 meters (147-08 ft.).

Freshman Johann Swanepoel recorded the fifth best mark in Kansas history in his first collegiate meet with his mark of 70.56 meters (231-06 ft.) in the javelin. Swanepoel claimed a second place finish with his mark.

Senior Brian Bishop placed second in the shot put with his mark of 16.05 meters (52-08.00 ft.), with Krause right behind him in third place (15.87m, 52-00.75 ft.). Scott Penny also scored for KU in the field as he finished third in the hammer throw with his mark of 56.51 meters (185-85 ft.).

The Jayhawk men’s 4×400-meter relay team finished second as Pieter Marx, Kyle Clemons, Dominique Manley and Keron Toussaint passed the baton around in 3:13.43.

Kansas Agate 3/19/11

Mayaguez Spring Break Classic

Women’s Results

100 Meters

7. Andrea Geubelle, 12.11

100-Meter Hurdles

5. Rebecca Neville, 14.17

7. Kathryn Lupton, 14.53

800 Meters

6. Rebeka Stowe, 2:17.39

7. Maddy Rich, 2:19.67

Anna Barber, 2:24.66

Kathleen Thompson, 2:25.04

3,000 Meters

2. Cori Christensen, 10:18.96

7. Madison Moser, 10:56.01

Kathleen Thompson, 11:06.02

400-Meter Hurdles

Timmie Morris, 1:06.30

4X100-Meter Relay

2. D. Morris, Simpson, Bradley, Dixon, 45.34

4×400-Meter Relay

1. Bradley, D. Morris, Wilson, Washington, 3:37.33

3. T. Morris, Christensen, Lupton, Barber, 3:55.54

Long Jump

2. Francine Simpson, 6.07m (19-11.00 ft)


Rebecca Neville, 29.55m (96-11.00 ft)

Pole Vault

2. Julia Cummings, 3.80m (12-05.50 ft)

5. Demi Payne, 3.65m (11-11.75 ft)

6. Jaci Perryman, 3.50m (11-05.75 ft)

Sarah Hedberg, 3.40m (11-01.75 ft)

Abby Row, 3.40m (11-01.75 ft)

Tara Turnbull, 3.30m (10-10.00 ft)

Claire Christie, 3.30m (10-10.00 ft)

Shot Put

3. Jessica Maroszek, 13.79m (45-03.00 ft)


2. Jessica Maroszek, 49.44m (162-02 ft)

Men’s Results

800 Meters

6. Dalen Fink, 1:53.00

Sam Jones, 1:57.51

Josh Munsch, 1:55.65

Brendan Soucie, 1:56.77

Nick Seckfort, 1:57.15

Sean Proehl, 1:58.92

Derrick Perry, 2:00.33

George Brown, 2:03.04

400-Meter Hurdles

9. Pieter Marx, 55.51

17. Isaac Bradshaw, 57.02

3,000 Meters

1. Josh Munsch, 8:39.29

4×400-Meter Relay

2. Marx, Clemons, Manley, Toussaint, 3:13.43

High Jump

7. Nick Canton, 2.00m (6-06.75 ft)

8. Nick Giancana, 1.95m (6-04.75 ft)

Triple Jump

4. Darryl Trotter, 14.44m (47-04.50 ft)

8. Jareb Stallbaumer, 13.95m (45-09.75 ft)


1. Joel Krause, 45.02m (147-08 ft)


2. Johann Swanepoel, 70.56m (231-06 ft)

7. Jesse Vaughn, 62.81m (206-01 ft)

8. Iain Trimble, 61.93m (203-02 ft)

Mason Finley, 41.59m (136-05 ft)

Hammer Throw

3. Scott Penny, 56.61m (185-09 ft)

Joel Krause, 41.50m (136-02 ft)

Long Jump

Jareb Stallbaumer, 6.95m (22-09.50 ft)

Darryl Trotter, 6.66m (21-10.25 ft)

Hammer Throw

3. Scott Penny, 56.51m (185-05 ft)

Joel Krause, 41.50m (136-02 ft)

Brian Bishop, 39.98m (131-02 ft)

Shot Put

2. Brian Bishop, 16.05m (52-08.00 ft)

3. Joel Krause, 15.87m (52-00.75 ft)

High Jump

7. Nick Canton, 2.00m (6-05.75 ft)

8. Nick Giancana, 1.95m (6-04.75 ft)