Kansas Relays Hall of Fame to Induct Three Members in 2008

April 3, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags” />LAWRENCE, Kan. – Former Jayhawk standout Michael Cox, former world record-holder Harrison Dillard and six-time Kansas Relays champion Kenny Harrison represent the 2008 Kansas Relays Hall of Fame Class. The three inductees will be recognized at the Hall of Fame banquet on Saturday, April 19.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office” />

Dillard is forever etched in Kansas Relays history as he was named the Relays’ first Most Outstanding Performer in 1948 for his then-world record time in the 120-yard high hurdles, an event he also won in 1946. As a member of BaldwinWallaceCollege, he held the Kansas Relays record at 14.2 with his victory in 1946 before breaking the world record with a time of 13.6 at Memorial Stadium two years later. Dillard was unquestionably the best hurdler of his time, winning 82 consecutive races between 1947 and 1948. He remains the only man in history to win Olympic Gold medals in both sprint and hurdle events. During his career, Dillard won a total of four Olympic Gold medals – two in London in 1948 and two in Helsinki in 1952.

As a Kansas State Wildcat, Harrison captured two Kansas Relays long jump titles (1986 with a jump of 26 feet, seven and a half inches and 1987 with a jump of 26-08 1/2 ft.), and three triple jump titles (1984 with a jump of 52-01 1/2 ft., 1986 with a jump of 55-11 and again in 1987 with a jump of 57-02). Harrison reeled in Most Outstanding Performer accolades in 1986. He twice set the meet record in the triple jump and once in the long jump. Harrison’s 1987 long jump record of 26-08 1/2 feet still stands today, along with his 1987 record triple jump mark of 57-02.

Cox was named Most Outstanding Performer in 1992, 1995 and 1996. He is one of only three athletes in the Kansas Relays history to receive the accolade three or more times. Cox won the Kansas Relays Glenn Cunningham Mile two years in a row. Cox’s first victory came in 1995 when he soared to a time of 4:00.93 in the event. He repeated in 1996, bettering his time by a second-and-a-half and clocking in at 3:59.20. Cox’s 1996 mark made him only the third Jayhawk to dip below four minutes in the mile.

Since 1923 the Kansas Relays has given track and field fans some amazing stories, and the Hall of Fame is meant to give those stories and the athletes who made them a vehicle to be remembered for years to come. Individuals are judged only on their impact on the event regardless of their successes in the sport other than the Kansas Relays. Each class of the Hall of Fame is selected by the vote of alumni, the media, and the Kansas Relays’ Greater Relays Committee. Any athlete, coach, official, sponsor, or individual associated with the event is eligible for selection. Inductees are recognized at the Hall of Fame banquet on Saturday night of Relays weekend.

The 81st Annual Kansas Relays take place April 16-19 at Memorial Stadium in Lawrence. Admission into the meet will be allowed only by those people wearing a 2008 Kansas Relays button.

Buttons will cost $10 for adults and are good for admission for all four days of the Kansas Relays. Children under the age of five and KU students are free. A 30% group discount will be applied to all orders of 20 or more adult Kansas Relays admission buttons. Discount buttons for Senior Citizens and all students with a valid ID are $5. A Kansas Relays Family Pack consisting of two adult and two student admissions will be offered for just $20.

Contact the Kansas Athletics ticket office at 800-34-HAWKS (2957) or http://kuathletics.collegesports.com/tickets/kan-tickets.html to purchase admission buttons.