Jayhawks look to close out spring season at Susie Maxwell Berning Classic

April 4, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – The University of Kansas women’s golf team will travel to Norman, Oklahoma where it will compete in its final event of the regular season at the 30th annual Susie Maxwell Berning Classic, April 6-7. The event will be conducted at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club (6,013 yards, Par-72), where the University of Oklahoma will play host to a competitive 16-team field.

“OU has a great golf course and a solid field,” said head coach Erin O’Neil. “I think it will be a good event before we begin post-season play at the Big 12 Championship at the end of April.”

Senior Annie Giangrosso, sophomores Emily Powers and Camilla Svensson, and freshmen Meghna Bal and Grace Thiry will be representing the Jayhawks in team play. Redshirt-freshman Sydney Wilson will also be competing at the event as an individual, which will mark her debut of the spring season.

Powers currently leads the team with a scoring average of 74.83. The Quincy, Ill., native posted a top-10 finish in last week’s competition at the Mountain View Collegiate, leading Kansas to an 11th-place finish while posting her lowest three-round score of the year at 220. Freshman Meghna Bal also bested her low-54 total by one stroke, combining for a final score of 228 while improving her average to 77.54.

Thiry and Giangrosso each own averages of 77.21 and 77.46, respectively. This will mark the second event of the spring for Svensson, who averages 79.20.

Last year, Baylor achieved tournament honors with a final composite score of 860, while Stacy Lewis of Arkansas claimed the individual crown with a final score of 208.

The two-day event will consist of the opening 36 holes on Sundayscheduled to begin with a shotgun start at 8 a.m., with the final round slated to take place on Monday.

For a complete recap and results of the action after the completion of each round check back to kuathletics.com.

COMPLETE FIELD: Arkansas-Little Rock, Baylor, Bucknell, Iowa State, Kansas,Kennesaw State, Missouri State, North Texas, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, Old Dominion, Oral Roberts, SMU, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, UTEP, Wisconsin