Kansas' Sherron Collins Winner of 2010 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

April 6, 2010

Wooden Award information below

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Monday Sherron Collins from the University of Kansas has been named the winner of the 2010 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award. The award is given to the nation’s outstanding senior male collegian 6’0″ and under who has excelled both athletically and academically.

“The Hall of Fame is proud to honor Sherron Collins with the 2010 award,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “The Hall of Fame honors excellence within the game and Sherron has proven he is one of college basketball’s top players this season.”

This season, Collins led Kansas to a 33-3 record, including the Big 12 regular-season and conference postseason championship titles. The Chicago guard led Kansas in scoring at 15.5 points per game, saw Kansas ranked No. 1 for 15 polls and entered the NCAA Tournament as the No. 1 overall seed. A two-time All-Big 12 First Team selection as a junior and senior and the 2010 conference tourney MVP, Collins was named Consensus All-America First Team Saturday. He is also the winningest player in Kansas basketball history amassing 130 victories throughout his career.

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award is named in honor of James Naismith’s daughter-in-law and started in 1969. Collins is the first KU recipient of the honor. A panel of representatives from the National Association of Basketball Coaches selects the recipient. To earn the award, the recipient must demonstrate leadership, character, loyalty, all-around basketball ability and excellence in the classroom.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame pays tribute to the game’s inventor, Dr. James Naismith, the first men’s basketball coach at Kansas. Located in Springfield, Mass., “the Birthplace of Basketball”, the world’s only Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves men’s and women’s basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, scholastic, Olympic, international and wheelchair

Previous Winners of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

1969 – William Keller, Purdue University

1970 – John Rinka, Kenyon

1971 – Charlie Johnson, University of California

1972 – Scott Martin, University of Oklahoma

1973 – Robert Sherwin, Army

1974 – Mike Robinson, Michigan State

1975 – Monte Tow, North Carolina State

1976 – Frank Alagia, St. John’s

1977 – Jeff Jonas, Utah

1978 – Mike Schieb, Susquehanna

1979 – Alton Byrd, Columbia

1980 – Jim Sweeney, Boston College

1981 – Terry Adolph, West Texas State

1982 – Jack Moore, University of Nebraska

1983 – Ray McMallum, Ball State University

1984 – Ricky Stokes, University of Virginia

1985 – Bubba Jennings, Texas Tech University

1986 – Jim Les, Bradley University

1987 – Tyrone Bogues, Wake Forest University

1988 – Jerry Johnson, Florida Southern

1989 – Tim Hardaway, UTEP

1990 – Greg Harvey, St. John’s

1991 – Keith Jennings, East Tennessee State

1992 – Tony Bennett, Wisconsin-Green Bay

1993 – Sam Crawford, New Mexico State

1994 – Greg Brown, University of New Mexico

1995 – Tyus Edney, UCLA

1996 – Eddie Benton, University of Vermont

1997 – Brevin Knight, Stanford University

1998 – Earl Boykins, E. Michigan University

1999 – Shawnta Rogers, George Washington U.

2000 – Scoonie Penn, Ohio State Universtiy

2001 – Rashad Phillips, Detroit

2002 – Steve Logan, University of Connecticut

2003 – Jason Gardner, University of Arizona

2004 – Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s

2005 – Nate Robinson, University of Washington

2006 – Dee Brown, University of Illinois

2007 – Tre’ Kelley, University of South Carolina

2008 – Mike Green, Butler University

2009 – Darren Collison, UCLA

2010 – Sherron Collins, University of Kansas

Collins a Wooden Award Finalist

LOS ANGELES – Kansas’ Sherron Collins is one of the five finalists for the John R. Wooden Award® announced Tuesday; all are invited to Los Angeles for the April 9 announcement of the 2010 John R. Wooden Award winner as college basketball’s player of the year, streamed live by CBS College Sports Network.

The 2010 John R. Wooden Award finalists are: West Virginia’s Da’Sean Butler (17.4 ppg, 6.3 rpg), who led his team to the Final Four this season; Kansas’ Sherron Collins (15.5 ppg, 4.5 ast); Wesley Johnson of Syracuse (16.5 ppg, 8.5 assists), the Big East Player of the Year; Ohio State’s Evan Turner (20.3 ppg, 9.2 rpg), the Big 10 Player of the Year; and Kentucky’s John Wall, who averaged 16.6 points and 6.4 assists in his freshman campaign. Collins is the first KU finalist since Wayne Simien in 2005. KU assistant coach Danny Manning was the 1988 Wooden Award winner.

The 34th John R. Wooden Award Presentation Gala will be held at 6:30 p.m. on April 9 at The Los Angeles Athletic Club, 431 W. Seventh Street in Los Angeles. In addition to honoring the Wooden All-American teams, the “Legends of Coaching” Award will be presented to Florida’s Billy Donovan, who made his 10th appearance as a coach in the NCAA Tournament this year. The final vote tally will be released that night as well. The event is sold out, but standing room only tickets may be obtained by calling The Los Angeles Athletic Club at (213) 630-5231 for $85. Internet users may watch the announcement live at 7:30 p.m. that night on the CBS College Sports Network, by using the following link:

The winners will receive a contribution from The Los Angeles Athletic Club for their university’s general scholarship fund. The Women’s John R. Wooden All-America team and finalists were announced last week.

Men’s 2010 John R. Wooden Award Finalists







Da’Sean Butler




West Virginia

Big East

Sherron Collins





Big 12

Wesley Johnson





Big East

Evan Turner




Ohio State

Big Ten

John Wall






Sherron Collins Career Accolades:

Career Honors: 2009-10: Wooden Award Finalist… Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award… NABC Senior Achievement Award… Consensus All-America First Team… NABC All-America First Team… Lute Olson Player of the Year (collegeinsider.com)… Associated Press All-America Second Team… USBWA All-American First Team… Big 12 Championship Most Outstanding Player… Sporting News All-American Second Team… FoxSports.com All-America Second Team… Yahoo! Sports All-American Second Team… All-Big 12 First Team… USBWA District VI… Naismith Trophy Midseason Candidate… Oscar Robinson Award Finalist (USBWA)… Bob Cousy Award Finalist… Wooden Award Midseason Candidate… Preseason AP All-America… Big 12 Preseason Co-Player of the Year… Preseason All-Big 12… Naismith Trophy Watch List… Preseason Wooden Award Candidate. 2008-09: NABC All-American Second Team… USBWA All-America Second Team… Sporting News All-America Third Team… All-Big 12 First Team… NABC District 8 First Team… Phillips 66 Big 12 Player of the Week (March 2)… Oscar Robertson Trophy finalist… Naismith Trophy Mid-Season candidate… Wooden Award Mid-Season candidate… Bob Cousy Award finalist… CBS Chevrolet Player of the Game vs. Michigan State (Jan. 10)… Phillips 66 Big 12 Player of the Week (Jan. 5)… Naismith Trophy Watch List… CBE Classic All-Tournament Team… Wooden Award Preseason Watch List… Preseason All-Big 12. 2007-08: Big 12 Sixth Man Award… Big 12 All-Reserve Team (media)… co-Big 12 Player of the Week (March 9)… Preseason Honorable Mention AP All-American… Preseason All-Big 12 Honorable Mention. Summer 2007: Team USA Pan-Am Trials. 2006-07: All-Big 12 Honorable Mention… Big 12 All-Rookie Team… Big 12 All-Freshman team by media… Athletic Director’s and Big 12 Commissioner’s honor rolls (spring 2007).