Kansas Women's Basketball Holds Annual Awards Banquet

April 10, 2008


The University of Kansas women’s basketball team held its’ postseason awards reception and senior celebration Thursday night in the Kansas Union Ballroom.

Junior guard Katie Smith received the Ms. Jayhawk award given to the player that embodies the spirit and vision of the Kansas women’s basketball program. It marked the second-straight year Smith has taken home the award. Elizabeth Luther, of Ottawa, received the Jayhawk MOP (Most Outstanding Person) award given to a member in the community who has made a tremendous impact on the program.

Other awards announced during the banquet included junior Ivana Catic earning the Lew Perkins Leadership Award, freshman Krysten Boogard was named Most Improved, sophomore Danielle McCray earned the Best 50/50 Hustle Player Award, senior Taylor McIntosh was given the Best Defender Award, while sophomore Rebecca Feickert earned the Academic Pride Award for the second-consecutive season.

Jamie Boyd, Ivana Catic, Kelly Kohn and McIntosh were honored for being named to the All-Big 12 Academic First Team this season. It was also announced that Marija Zinic, Kohn, Catic, Boyd, McCray, Smith, Feickert and McIntosh were named to the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll, while Boyd also received the Student Athlete Activities Council award for representing the team in on campus student activities.

Thursday Night’s Award Winners

Jayhawk MOP- Elizabeth Luther

Athletic Director’s Honor Roll- Rebecca Feickert, Kelly Kohn, Ivana Catic, Katie Smith, Marija Zinic, Jamie Boyd, Taylor McIntosh and Danielle McCray

Big 12 Academic Award- Jamie Boyd, Ivana Catic, Taylor McIntosh, Kelly Kohn

Big 12 Athletic Honor- Danielle McCray (Honorable Mention), Krysten Boogaard (All-Rookie Team)

SAAC Award- Jamie Boyd

Academic Pride Award- Rebecca Feickert

Best Defender- Taylor McIntosh

Best 50/50 Hustle Player- Danielle McCray

Most Improved- Krysten Boogaard

Lew Perkins Leadership Award- Ivana Catic

Ms. Jayhawk Award- Katie Smith