Kansas Rowing Puts 39 Individuals on Conference USA Commissioner's Honor Roll

April 12, 2011

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas rowing placed 39 rowers on the Conference USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll it was announced by Conference USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky Tuesday.

In order to qualify, student-athletes must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better. KU is a member of both the Big 12 Conference and Conference USA for the sport of rowing. Other C-USA members in rowing include Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas, SMU, Tulsa, UCF, Alabama and Tennessee.

The honorees included 12 seniors – Allison Able, Karlie Brown, Elise Langtry, Melanie Luthi, Meaghan Oven, Rachelle Pauly, Lauren Pollmiller, Caitlin Roach, Kellie Roy, Jessica Sadler, Nicole Schneider and Cassie Sparks.

Juniors making the Commissioner’s Honor Roll were Molly Boehner, Katie Bremer, Cassy Cobble, Kathryn Schoonover, Emily Starr and Paige Stephens.

Sophomores Ashleigh Allam, Megan Boxberger, Trinity Graff and Abigail Wicinski and Hillary Woods also made the list, while 16 freshmen joined them. The freshmen were Caty Clements, Meg Demuri, Kelsie Fiss, Katie Hayes, Amanda Lewis, Maslyn Locke, Abbey Lozenski, Leah Marten, Cara Murray, Elizabeth Scherer, Hannah Singhal, Kayla Soper, Bailey Stallbaumer, Jasmyn Turner, Emma Umbarger and Libby Wiebe.

Kansas rowing will host its next two regattas on the schedule at Wyandotte County Lake in Kansas City, Kan. KU will face Kansas State in the Kansas Cup April 23 and then host the 2011 Big 12 Rowing Championship April 30.