Women's Basketball Closes Season With Postseason Reception

April 13, 2006

LAWRENCE, Kan. — The University of Kansas women’s basketball team held its annual postseason reception and awards ceremony Thursday night at the Student Union ballroom on the KU campus.

The program featured highlight videos recapping the Jayhawks’ 17-13 season which culminated in a WNIT appearance — the first postseason appearance since 2000.

Team members received recognition for various awards won throughout the academic year. Eight Jayhawks were named to the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll including Katie Smith, Jen Orgas, Marija Zinic, Ivana Catic, Jamie Boyd, Taylor McIntosh, Sharita Smith and Crystal Kemp. Boyd, Sharita Smith and Kemp were also recognized for being named Academic All-Big 12.

Hallman received a commemorative ball for becoming the 19th player in KU history to reach 1,000 points during her career. Kemp and Hallman also received awards for being named All-Big 12.

The team announced its annual Jayhawk MVP, an award given to a member of the community who goes above and beyond supporting the team. This year’s winners were Deb Norton and Jim Marchiony.

The evening was capped by speeches by the three Jayhawk seniors — Kaylee Brown, Erica Hallman and Crystal Kemp — who thanked their teammates, coaches and fans for their support.