Kansas Qualifies Four for Grand Finals at Knecht Cup

April 13, 2013

Cherry Hill, N.J. – The University of Kansas rowing team continued to show strength in the Fours and Second Varsity Eight on Day one of the Knecht Cup on Saturday.

Racing on Saturday is used as a qualifier for the final races on Sunday. Twelve boats in each event advanced to Sunday. The Grand Final will match the top six qualifiers from Saturday against each other, while the Petite Final includes the next six qualifiers. The Jayhawks will send four boats to the Grand Finals and two boats to the Petite Finals.

The Jayhawks dominated the Second Varsity Four with two boats qualifying for the Grand Final. Kansas “A” rowed the top qualifying time in each of the quarterfinals and semifinals while Kansas “B” rowed the second fastest time. The Varsity Four boat also qualified for the Grand Final by rowing the second fastest time out of 35 total boats in the quarterfinals, and the second-fastest time in the semifinals.

The Second Varsity Eight won their fifth and sixth-consecutive races by winning both of their heat contests, which qualified them for the Grand Final on Sunday. Each race at the Knecht Cup features six boats.

“We had a good day across the board,” said KU head coach Rob Catloth. “The 2V8 will see some good competition tomorrow, but they have had some good races and came in as the number one seed and so far they are defending that position.”

The Kansas Varsity Eight rowed the fifth-best time in the semifinals, but it was the third best time in their individual heat. The Jayhawks needed to finish in the top two in their heat to advance to the Grand Final. The Varsity Eight missed second place in its heat by .25 of a second. Kansas did advance to the Petite Final.

The Kansas Novice Eight also finished third in their semifinal heat and qualified for the Petite Final.

West Virginia is the only other Big 12 team at the Knecht Cup. The Mountaineers will row in one Grand Final. Alabama and Old Dominion are representing Conference USA with the Tide sending one boat to a Grand Final and the Lady Monarchs racing in two Grand Finals on Sunday.

9:00 am Second Varsity Four Grand Final
9:30 am Varsity Four Grand Final
12:00 pm Novice Eight Petite Final
1:00 pm Second Varsity Eight Grand Final
2:20 pm Varsity Eight Petite Final

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.


Kansas Boatings
Novice Eight
Coxswain Mary Slattery
Jackie Adamle
Emily Scheck
Jessie Jacob
Clarissa Holt Bates
Kelsey Dick
Lauren Miller
Tess Scott
Stephanie Walker

Second Varsity Four B
Coxswain Abbey Lozenski
Allie Griffin
Meghan Cahill
Ashlyn Midyett
Kelsie Fiss

Second Varsity Four A
Coxswain Sarah Lasini
Andrea Joyce
Angie Flores
Emily Starr
Carley Iverson

Varsity Four
Coxswain Katy MacCormack
Eileen Gallagher
Emma Umbarger
Jessica Miller
Kaylee Sextro

Second Varsity Eight
Coxswain Caty Clements
Julia Alvey
Cheyenne Verdoorn
Claudi Lever
Erin Brogan
Jennifer Hartzler
Amanda Lewis
Danielle Adam
Jade Lambkins

Varsity Eight
Coxswain Olivia Catloth
Caity Decker
Olivia Kinet
Alex Torquemada
Liz Scherer
Maggie Duncan
Brooke Thuston
Katy Evans
Laura Benz