Kansas Rowing Heads to Tennessee for SIRA's

April 17, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas rowing will be back in action this weekend in Oak Ridge, Tenn., for the Southern Intercollegiate Rowing Association Regatta. KU will compete in five events, with the semifinals taking place on Saturday, April 19, and the finals on Sunday, April 20. SIRA’s will be the first non-duel regatta of the spring season for KU, and its first multiple-school regatta since last November.

The Southern Intercollegiate Rowing Association Regatta is conducted over the same course, Melton Hill Lake, as the South-Central Regionals. Kansas will compete at the South-Central Regionals May 17-18.

Kansas will face stiff competition at the SIRA’s, as two of the nation’s best will be rowing against the Jayhawks. Purdue and Grand Valley State, the nation’s top two Varsity Eight boats according to the latest American Collegiate Rowing Association Poll, will compete at SIRA’s. Kansas will also face competition from Kansas State, Tulsa, SMU, Alabama, Murray State and Jacksonville in the First Varsity Eight event.

For complete results following each day’s action, please check back with kuathletics.com. The schedule and boatings are listed below.

Kansas Boatings for SIRA’s
Saturday, April 19

Varsity Four Heats – 9:29 a.m.
Semifinals at 3:45 p.m.
Sarah Best (Coxswain)
Kahheetah Barnoskie
Valerie Jackson
Amber Bortz
Brittany Belford

Second Novice Eight – 2 p.m.
Karlie Brown (Coxswain)
Monica Reynolds
Allison Able
Rachelle Pauly
Brittany Francis
Nicole Schneider
Jessica Sadler
Kelsey Simpson
Megan Foster

First Novice Eight – 2:07 p.m.
Erika Raschke (Coxswain)
Jennifer Robb
Cassie Sparks
Meaghan Oven
Denise Orloff
Kate Wiens
Inga Schuchard
Lauren Pollmiller
Julia Guard

Second Varsity Eight – 2:37 p.m.
Lexie Peterson (Coxswain)
Stacy Rachow
Abby Green
Kristin Deckert
Becca Labat
Kaitlin Squier
Hailee Jones
Brianna Flickinger
Elisheva Patterson

First Varsity Eight – 5:15 p.m.
Katie Brosious (Coxswain)
Lindsey Lawrence
Carrie Selden
Kara Boston
Alia Bober
Melanie Luthi
Katie Beall
Emily Martin
Megan Heacock

***The Finals will be held on Sunday. KU’s Sunday schedule depends on its Saturday Semifinals performance.***