Kansas Celebrates 2011-12 Season With Year-End Banquet

April 18, 2012

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Senior Aishah Sutherland received a standing ovation to conclude the Kansas women’s basketball year-end banquet and senior recognition ceremony held Wednesday night in the KU Union Ballroom.

After a highlight video to start the event, Kansas Athletics Director Sheahon Zenger welcomed the crowd of nearly 300 and congratulated the Jayhawks on their incredible NCAA Sweet 16 run. Head coach Bonnie Henrickson then addressed the group of staff, team and supporters before handing out the team awards.

Juniors Carolyn Davis and Angel Goodrich, sophomore Tania Jackson and freshman Natalie Knight were first acknowledged as members on the AD Honor Roll. Goodrich and Jackson also received plaques for earning Academic All-Big First Team honors, while Davis received her award for being named to the second team.

Next, a trio of Jayhawks was recognized for their All-Big 12 appointments. In 2011-12, Davis earned a spot on the first team, Goodrich on the second team and Sutherland on the honorable mention list. Davis and Goodrich remained on stage as the duo received awards for being named All-Americans. Davis was a WBCA All-America Honorable Mention and Goodrich was All-America Honorable Mention by both the WBCA and Associated Press.

Henrickson finished the award portion of the ceremony by presenting Davis and Goodrich with the Ms. Jayhawk Award, the evening’s top honor.

The Jayhawks’ lone senior, Sutherland concluded the evening with a short speech commemorating her career at Kansas.

KU had one of its best seasons in program history. The Jayhawks, who went 21-13 overall, earned their first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2000 and advanced to their third Sweet 16 in program history and first since 1998. The team will return nine letterwinners, including four starters, next season and have already signed two talented newcomers in Lamaria Cole and Markisha Hawkins.

Award Winners
Angel Goodrich- Ms. Jayhawk Award, WBCA and Associated Press All-America Honorable Mention, All-Big 12 Second Team, Academic All-Big 12 First Team, AD Honor Roll

Carolyn Davis- Ms. Jayhawk Award, WBCA All-America Honorable Mention, All-Big 12 First Team, Academic All-Big 12 Second Team, AD Honor Roll

Aishah Sutherland- All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

Tania Jackson- Academic All-Big 12 First Team, AD Honor Roll

Natalie Knight- AD Honor Roll