Kansas Women's Basketball Holds Season Ending Banquet

April 19, 2007


The University of Kansas women’s basketball team held its’ postseason awards reception and senior celebration Thursday night in the Kansas Union Ballroom.

Sophomore guard Katie Smith received the Ms. Jayhawks award given to the player that embodies the spirit and vision of the Kansas women’s basketball program. Diane Fry, Marcella and the late John Briery received the Jayhawk MVP award given to members in the community who have made a tremendous impact on the program.

Other awards announced during the banquet included junior Taylor McIntosh earning the Lew Perkins Leadership Award, freshman Danielle McCray was named Most Improved, freshman Kelly Kohn earned the Best 50/50 Hustle Player Award, senior Sharita Smith was given the Best Defender Award while freshman Rebecca Feickert earned the Academic Pride Award.

Jamie Boyd, Ivana Catic, Marija Zinic and McIntosh were honored for being named to the All-Big 12 Academic teams this season. It was also announced that Feickert, Kohn, Catic, K. Smith, Zinic, Boyd and S. Smith were named to the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll. Boyd also received the Student Athlete Activities Council award for representing the team in on campus student activities.

Thursday Night’s Award Winners
Jayhawk MVP- Diane Fry and Marcella Briery (Late Husband John Briery)
Athletic Director’s Honor Roll- Rebecca Feickert, Kelly Kohn, Ivana Catic, Katie Smith, Marija Zinic, Jamie Boyd and Sharita Smith
Big 12 Academic Award- Jamie Boyd, Ivana Catic, Taylor McIntosh, Marija Zinic
Big 12 Athletic Honor- Shaquina Mosley
Student Athlete Activities Council Award- Jamie Boyd
Academic Pride Award- Rebecca Feickert
Best Defender- Sharita Smith
Best 50/50 Hustle Player- Kelly Kohn
Most Improved- Danielle McCray
Lew Perkins Leadership Award- Taylor McIntosh
Ms. Jayhawk Award- Katie Smith