Nine Rowers Receive Top Academic Honor from Conference USA

April 19, 2011


Nine members of the Kansas rowing team received the Conference USA Commissioner’s Academic Medal it was announced by C-USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky.

Seniors Melanie Luthi, Lauren Pollmiller and Nicole Schneider, as well as freshmen Meg DeMuri, Katie Hayes, Elizabeth Scherer, Hannah Singhal, Jasmyn Turner and Libby Wiebe were all recognized by the conference for having a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or better.

Kansas is a member of both Conference USA and the Big 12 Conference in the sport of rowing. Last week, 39 rowers, including the nine receiving the Commissioner’s Academic Medal, made the Conference USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll for having a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better.

Kansas will compete this Saturday April 23 against Kansas State for the Kansas Cup at Wyandotte County Lake in Kansas City, Kan. The event will also mark Senior Day for 16 seniors and will begin at 10 a.m. Following that, Kansas will host the 2011 Big 12 Rowing Championship April 30 at Wyandotte County Lake.

Conference USA Commissioner’s Academic Medal Recipients
Meg DeMuri
Katie Hayes
Melanie Luthi
Lauren Pollmiller
Elizabeth Scherer
Nicole Schneider
Hannah Singhal
Jasmyn Turner
Libby Wiebe