Swimming and Diving Hands Out Postseason Awards

April 24, 2005

LAWRENCE, Kan. – The Kansas swimming and diving team handed out its postseason awards at its annual postseason banquet, Sunday, at the Springhill Suites in Lawrence, Kan. Four individual awards were given out and the 2005-06 team captains were announced at the banquet.

Senior Amy Gruber was named the Tammy Thomas MVP for the 2004-05 season. Gruber’s senior season was highlighted by being named Collegeswimming.com’s National Swimmer of the Week, Nov. 24, and earning Big 12 Swimmer of the Month honors in November. The Bigelow, Ark., native also competed in the 2005 NCAA Championships and qualified to compete at the 2008 Olympic Trials. She was also named First Team Academic All-Big 12. The award is named after Tammy Thomas, one of the top swimmers in Jayhawk history. While at KU, Thomas earned 12 individual conference championships and All-American status in 1980, ’82 and ’83.

Senior Miranda Isaac received the Karen Dionne award for the 2004-05 season. The award is presented annually to the most inspirational member of the swimming and diving team. The award is named in honor of Karen Dionne, who swam two years at KU and earned an individual conference championship in the 100 breaststroke in 1985. Following her sophomore season, Dionne was in an automobile accident that ended her swimming career.

For the second consecutive season, senior Aly Colver was given the Academic Award for her excellence in the classroom. The award is given to a team member who has a high cumulative grade point average and has over 50 percent of her graduate credits. Colver was named to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team for the third consecutive season earlier in the year. The Holyoke, Colo., native was one of only two Big 12 women swimmers to record a 4.0 grade point average during the fall semester.

The Newcomer of the Year award was given to freshman Terri Schramka. The Madison, Wis., native made an immediate impact for the Jayhawks in her freshman campaign. She was a member of the school record-setting 800 freestyle relay team at the Big 12 Championships and recorded top-five KU times in the 100, 200, 500 and 1000 freestyle events as well as the 100 and 200 backstroke events.

Head coach Clark Campbell also announced juniors Gina Gnatzig and Emily Rusch will serve as team captains during the 2005-06 season.

“The awards banquet is a bittersweet close to our 2004-05 season,” head coach Clark Campbell said. “It was a great way to honor our six seniors for everything they have meant to the program. We are sad to see them go, but also excited about the future of the program. The banquet is always great because it serves as the close of one season and the beginning of the next.”

The annual awards banquet brought the 2004-05 swimming and diving season to its official close. For more information about the Kansas swimming and diving team including news, notes and upcoming events, visit the swimming and diving website throughout the upcoming months.