Kansas Rowing Places 19 on 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Team

April 25, 2012

IRVING, Texas – Nineteen members of the University of Kansas rowing team have been named to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Team it was announced Tuesday by the Big 12 Conference.

The Jayhawks placed 13 on the first team and six on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

First team members include: seniors Molly Boehner (community health), Melanie Luthi (mechanical engineering and business) and Paige Stephens (exercise science); junior Emily Starr (exercise science); sophomores Caty Clements (accounting), Katie Hayes (journalism), Abbey Lozenski (human biology), Cara Murray (exercise science), Elizabeth Scherer (exercise science), Hannah Singhal (organismal biology) and Emma Umbarger (exercise science); freshmen Kate Lygrisse (biology) and Nicole Otey (nursing).

Clements is one of eight rowers from around the conference with a 4.0 GPA.

Second team members include: senior Kathryn Schoonover; juniors Ashleigh Allam (psychology) and Ashlyn Midyett (exercise science); sophomores Kelsie Fiss (pharmacy), Amanda Lewis (business) and Jessica Miller (exercise science).

Oklahoma led all teams with 23 honorees, while Kansas State and Texas tallied 22 members.