KU to Battle Texas and K-State in Big 12 Invitational

April 26, 2007


Kansas will be in action this weekend in Kansas City to face fellow Big 12 schools, Texas and Kansas State. The Big 12 Invitational will be held at Wyandotte County Lake with races set to commence at 11 a.m. with the Second Varsity Four race on Sunday, April 29. The Invitational features six races, ending with the First Varsity Eight race.

Kansas has faced both Kansas State and Texas this season with varying degrees of success. On April 7, KU narrowly defeated K-State to win the Kansas Cup by a score of 12-10. Kansas had the faster Novice Four, Varsity Four and First Varsity Eight boats to win their second straight duel against the Wildcats.

On March 24, the Jayhawks opened their 2007 spring season with a home regatta with Texas and SMU. Texas proved to be the best team of the regatta on that day, but it was Kansas’ first launch of 2007. The more experienced Texas squad took first in every race, but KU was competitive. The First Varsity Eight boat nearly defeated Texas, falling to the Longhorns by only 10 seconds.

Last year, Kansas finished in a tie for second place with Kansas State with 44 points. Texas won the regatta, finishing with 56 points. KU’s Novice Four, Second Novice Eight and First Varsity Eight boats finished second to Texas.

Check back with kuathletics.com for more information leading up to the Big 12 Invitational and for results following the regatta.

Big 12 Invitational Schedule and KU Boating Assignments
Second Varsity Four: 11:00 a.m.
Coxswain: Catlin Curtis
4: Kahheetah Barnoskie
3: Callie Owen
2: Becca Labat
Bow: Megan Gier

Second Novice Eight: 11:10 a.m.
Coxswain: Sarah Best
8: Brittany Belford
7: Kerri Emel
6: Kaitlin Squier
5: Lindsey Warren
4: Erika Fisher
3: Britany Strohl
2: Kelly Miller
Bow: Ryan Buck

First Novice Eight: 11:20 a.m.
Coxswain: Jenny Leuck
8: Elena Larson
7: Katie Beall
6: Amber Bortz
5: Emily Martin
4: Sara Karcher
3: Brianna Flickinger
2: Stacy Rachow
Bow: Abby Green

First Varsity Four: 11:30 a.m.
Coxswain: Lexie Peterson
4: Brooke Castrop
3: Hailee Jones
2: Abbi Huderle
Bow: Kristin Deckert

Second Varsity Eight: 11:40 a.m.
Coxswain: Samira Naji
8: Annie Sims
7: Megan Heacock
6: Whitney Fasbender
5: Ashley Broockerd
4: Tricia Sawtelle
3: Elisheva Patterson
2: Melissa Oliver
Bow: Ashley Hughes

First Varsity Eight: 11:50 a.m.
Coxswain: Katie Brosious
8: Lindsey Miles
7: Jelayna Da Silva
6: Tiffany Jeffers
5: Kara Boston
4: Carrie Selden
3: Lindsey Lawrence
2: Valerie Jackson
Bow: LlynnAnn Laugesen

Points are as follows:
1st 2nd 3rd
1V8: 27 24 21
2V8: 14 12 10
V4: 7 6 5
1N8: 5 4 3
2N8: 3 2 1
2V4: 0 0 0