Vote For Tamecka Dixon For the WNBA All-Decade Team

April 27, 2006


— Fan Voting Starts Friday, April 28 on

— Team to be Honored at WNBA All-Star Game as Part of League’s 10th Anniversary Celebration —

New York, April 27, 2006 – With the WNBA’s 10th Anniversary season set to tip off on May 20, 2006, the league today announced the names of 30 nominees for the 10 coveted spots on the WNBA All-Decade Team. The list of players – selected by a panel of national media, coaches, former players and WNBA personnel – includes seven of the league’s original players and represents the very best in women’s professional basketball.

Voting for the WNBA All-Decade Team will begin this Friday, and will be conducted among fans, select national and WNBA-market media, and current WNBA players and coaches. Fans are encouraged to vote by logging onto The All-Decade Team will be announced in June and honored at the 2006 WNBA All-Star Game set to take place at Madison Square Garden in New York on July 12.

The league’s official Web site will feature a special section dedicated to the All-Decade Team, complete with player histories, statistics and video highlights of each nominee. The new History section, in which the voting will take place, may also serve as a resource for fans and media alike, providing career statistical leaders, award winners, season recaps and more. Fans will be able to vote for their All-Decade Team players once per day (daily).

“We view the celebration of our 10th anniversary as a way to mark the accomplishments of our past and embrace our vision for the future,” said WNBA President Donna Orender. “The selection of the WNBA All-Decade Team will enable our fans and the league to honor the players who have contributed so much to the growth of the WNBA and of women’s basketball.”

Members of the All-Decade team will be selected on the basis of their overall contribution to the WNBA, with consideration given to on-court performance and ability, leadership, sportsmanship and community service, as well as contribution to team success and the growth of women’s basketball.

In addition to selecting an All-Decade Team, the WNBA will celebrate its 10th Anniversary season by providing fans an opportunity to determine the Greatest Moments in league history and through a season-long initiative, “10 Years of Caring,” where all teams will demonstrate their continued commitment to their communities.

Below is a list of the 30 nominees for the WNBA All-Decade Team.

Name, WNBA Team (Current/Last), Previous Team(s)
Janeth Arcain, Houston Comets (1997-Current)
Sue Bird, Seattle Storm (2002-Current)
Ruthie Bolton*, Sacramento Monarchs (1997-2004)
Swin Cash, Detroit Shock (2002-Current)
Tamika Catchings, Indiana Fever (2001-Current)
Cynthia Cooper*, Houston Comets (1997-2000, 2003)
Tamecka Dixon, Houston Comets (Current), Los Angeles Sparks (1997-2005)
Jennifer Gillom*, Los Angeles Sparks (2003), Phoenix Mercury (1997-2002)
Yolanda Griffith, Sacramento Monarchs (1999-Current)
Becky Hammon, New York Liberty (1999-Current)
Chamique Holdsclaw, Los Angeles Sparks (2005-Current), Washington Mystics (1999-2004)
Lauren Jackson, Seattle Storm (2001-Current)
Shannon Johnson, San Antonio Silver Stars (2004-Current), Connecticut Sun (2003), Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
Vickie Johnson, San Antonio Silver Stars (Current), New York Liberty (1997-2005)
Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles Sparks (1997-Current)
Rebecca Lobo*, Connecticut Sun (2003), Houston Comets (2002), New York Liberty (1997-2001)
Mwadi Mabika, Los Angeles Sparks (1997-Current)
Taj McWilliams-Franklin, Connecticut Sun (2003-Current), Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
DeLisha Milton-Jones, Washington Mystics (2005-Current), Los Angeles Sparks (1999-2004)
Deanna Nolan, Detroit Shock (2001-Current)
Ticha Penicheiro, Sacramento Monarchs (1998-Current)
Nykesha Sales, Connecticut Sun (2003-Current), Orlando Miracle (1999-2002)
Katie Smith, Detroit Shock (2005-Current), Minnesota Lynx (1999-2005)
Dawn Staley, Houston Comets (2005-Current), Charlotte Sting (1999-2005)
Andrea Stinson, Detroit Shock (2005), Charlotte Sting (1997-2004)
Sheryl Swoopes, Houston Comets (1997-Current)
Diana Taurasi, Phoenix Mercury (2004-Current)
Tina Thompson, Houston Comets (1997-Current)
Teresa Weatherspoon*, Los Angeles Sparks (2004) New York Liberty (1997-2003)
Natalie Williams*, Indiana Fever (2003-2005), Utah Starzz (1999-2002)