Jayhawks Finish Seventh at Big 12 Championship

April 29, 2009


Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Zach Pederson recorded the best finish of his senior season to lead the Kansas men’s golf team to a seventh place finish at the Big 12 Championship at Prairie Dunes Country Club.

Pederson carded a final-round 74 to finish the event in 10th place individually and was named to the All-Big 12 Tournament Team. Pederson’s previous best finish at the Big 12 Championship in two starts was 57th place. His previous best finish this year was 49th place at the Aggie Invitational.

“Zach has really struggled the last few years and for him to finish up his senior season with a top-10 finish is very special for him and I couldn’t be happier for him,” said head coach Kit Grove.

The team overcame wet conditions to post a 297, marking its third round of the event under 300 strokes. The event was delayed until a 10 a.m. shotgun start due to overnight rain and thunderstorms.

“The golf course was real sloppy today with the rain, but I thought we held things together pretty well and I thought we put together a real solid Big 12 Championship,” Grove said.

Sophomore Nate Barbee carded a 74 in the final round to finish tied for 21st place. All 25 rounds Barbee completed this year have been applied to the team score.

Senior Andrew Storm shot the best round of the day for the Jayhawks with a final round 71. Storm hopped up six spots to tie for 25th place.

Junior Bryan Hackenberg shot an 80 to tie for 34th place. Senior Walt Koelbel finished the event tied for 57th place after carding a last day 78.

Oklahoma State won the event for the third-consecutive year with a four-round score of 1,149. Morgan Hoffman of Oklahoma State overtook Bill Allcorn of Baylor for medalist honors after a final round 66.

The Jayhawks will now wait to see if they are selected to participate in the 2009 NCAA Regional Championships. Check back to kuathletics.com for continuing coverage of the 2008-09 season.

Team Leaderboard

1. Oklahoma State (293-288-287-281—1149)

2. Colorado (298-283-290-292—1163)

3. Texas A&M (301-284-296-286—1167)

4. Kansas State (304-301-289-276—1170)

5. Baylor (297-293-293-291—1174)

6. Texas Tech (295-304-300-289—1188)

7. Kansas (298-306-290-297—1191)

8. Texas (303-305-306-280—1194)

9. Missouri (310-307-290-297—1204)

10. Oklahoma (310-301-306-288—1205)

11. Nebraska (319-293-300-294—1206)

12. Iowa State (306-308-295-301—1210)

Player Leaderboard

1. Morgan Hoffman, Oklahoma State (71-71-68-66—276)

2. Bill Allcorn, Baylor (68-71-70-70—279)

3. Robert Streb, Kansas State (69-75-67-69—280)

4. Bronson Burgoon, Texas A&M (72-68-72-70—282)

5. Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State (74-71-72-69-286)

10. Zach Pederson, Kansas (71-76-73-74—294)

T21. Nate Barbee, Kansas (75-77-72-74—298)

T25. Andrew Storm, Kansas (75-81-73-71—300)

T34. Bryan Hackenberg, Kansas (77-75-72-80—304)

T57. Walt Koelbel, Kansas (84-78-74-78—314)