Five Women's Basketball Players Earned Academic All-Big 12 Honors

March 5, 2009

IRVING, Texas – Kansas women’s basketball players Ivana Catic, Rebecca Feickert, Kelly Kohn, Katie Smith, and Marija Zinic were named to the 2009 Academic All-Big 12 Team, the conference office announced Thursday. All five players were named to the first team and Rebecca Feickert was one of three players in the league to boast a 4.0 GPA. In all, 43 student athletes were honored by the league.

Catic, a senior Business Management major, is one of the most experienced player on this year’s roster. She has made 28 appearances at point guard, including 18 starts, and is second on the team with 88 assists.

Feickert, a junior Accounting major, has appeared in 10 games this season. The Goodrich, N.D., native had a career night against San Jose State in December, with eight points and four rebounds.

Kohn, a junior Communication Studies major, has played a pivotal role off the bench this season, averaging 3.4 points in 13.4 minutes per game. Kohn is third on the team with 19 three pointers.

Smith, a senior majoring in Sport Science, is one of the team’s three co-captains. She was sidelined in January with a torn ACL after making 11 appearances this season.

Zinic, a senior Communication Studies major, has appeared in 10 games this season. The Serbian native has 10 career starts to her name.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and media relations offices, the women’s basketball academic all-league squad consisted of 34 first team members combined with 9 on the second team. First team members have recorded a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second team are those with a 3.00 to 3.19 GPAs.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or in the two previous semesters and have participated in 60 percent of his team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Kansas closes out its regular season on Saturday at Iowa State. Tip-off is scheduled for 7 p.m., in Hilton Coliseum.