Kansas to Host First Big 12 Rowing Championship on Saturday

April 30, 2009

LAWRENCE, Kan.-Kansas rowing will host the first ever Big 12 Rowing Championship on Saturday, May 2 at Wyandotte County Lake in Kansas City, Kan. The event begins around 10 a.m. with the National Anthem at 10:15 and the first race, the Second Novice Eight, beginning at 10:30.

With Oklahoma adding rowing as a varsity sport in 2008-09, four Big 12 schools now compete in rowing. The conference, therefore, has added its name to the league championship for 2009. In addition to Kansas and Oklahoma, Kansas State and Texas will compete for the Big 12 championship trophy.

“We’re really excited as the host team for the first Big 12 Championship for rowing,” said head coach Rob Catloth. “For us, Kansas State, and Texas we feel like it’s a long time coming.”

Since 1998, Kansas, Kansas State and Texas have participated in a Big 12 Invitational regatta eight times, including the 2006 and 2007 events hosted by KU at Wyandotte County Lake. Through the work of the Parks and Recreation Department of the Unified Government of Wyandotte County, Wyandotte County Lake is home to Kansas rowing through the 2010-11 season due to bridge construction on I-70 at the Kansas River near Lawrence. Visit Wyandotte County Park and Lake at www.wycokck.org/parks.

The event is free, but there is a $5 parking fee per car. The schedule of events, scoring and Kansas boatings are listed below.


10:15 a.m. – National Anthem

10:30 a.m. – Second Novice Eight (launch at 9:45 a.m.)

10:45 a.m. – First Novice Eight (launch at 10:00 a.m.)

11:00 a.m. – Varsity Four (launch at 10:15 a.m.)

11:15 a.m. – Second Varsity Eight (launch at 10:30 a.m.)

11:30 a.m. – First Varsity Eight (launch at 10:45 a.m.)

11:45 a.m. – Trophy Presentation


1st 2nd 3rd

1V8: 27 24 21

2V8: 14 12 10

V4: 7 6 5

1N8: 5 4 3

2N8: 3 2 1

2V4: 0 0 0

*Note: Due to not fielding varsity team entries, Oklahoma will not be involved in the team scoring.


Second Novice Eight

Lindsey Bricklemyer (coxswain)

Kelsie Cross

Charlotte Adams

Katie Bremer

Kara Ritchey

Molly Boehner

Erin Gomer

Caitlin Perry

Jackie Burton

First Novice Eight

Kelsey Schuler (coxswain)

Elizabeth Dedon

Stephanie Goetz

Cassy Cobble

Paige Stephens

Angela Mings

Laura Bohling

Morgan Coleman

Kathryn Schoonover

Varsity Four

Elise Langtry (coxswain)

Kahheetah Barnoskie

Kristin Deckert

Amber Bortz

Abby Green

Second Varsity Eight

Lexie Peterson (coxswain)

Katie Beall

Jenny Robb

Erin Sargent

Kate Wiens

Cassie Sparks

Nicole Schneider

Megan Heacock

Brianna Flickinger

First Varsity Eight

Katie Brosious (coxswain)

Lindsey Lawrence

Valerie Jackson

Meaghan Oven

Becca Labat

Emily Martin

Carrie Selden

Stacy Rachow

Melanie Luthi